We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Ethiopian food high quality. Value 4 money. Local ambiance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rohobot

Rohobot
Tunisia Road | In Front of Leaders Workout Place, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 186 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://pernille.typepad.com/louderthanswahili/2009/09/rohobot-ethiopian-restaurant.html
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian food high quality. Value 4 money. Local ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Real good Ethiopian food prepared with care and love. Decent prices. Local ambiance and setting. Hidden food gem.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kiabakari
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since a friend of mine tipped me to this little family restaurant operating in an unassuming neighborhood around Namanga area of Dar es Salaam, I feel in love with it. It is not about the prices which are lower than in Addis in Dar or the ambiance or anything else. It is just it feels at home here and the food is very good. The owners are very friendly, helpful and smiling and no matter if I go alone or in a group, we get a very good service. I do not wish to go into the comparison mode with the Addis in Dar, because these two ethiopian restaurants are different, though the food is the same. One of my best places to go to eat in a casual mode with friends who appreciate this kind of establishments. Next time I am in Dar, surely my destination for a dinner with friends will be Rohobot. Keep it up, guys!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Excellent Ethiopian food in this little restaurant on a back road on the peninsula. Try going with a few friends so that you can sample as many dishes as possible.
If you are alone, make sure you get one of the combo dishes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not as good as Addis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This restaurant is considered the rebel underdog of Ethiopian food in Dar es Salaam, with the story that it was opened by a chef who went rogue from Addis in Dar. Sadly, the food isn't quite as good as over at Addis... the flavours are 'muddier' somehow.
Both establishments belong in the category of restaurants that charge over $5 for a small dish of lentils, which shows that someone has lost perspective somewhere - and it's probably we, the customers.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian food in Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Cozy restuarant that makes you feel like you are home. Great value for the food with exceptional wait staff. We eat here at least once a month and love it each time we go!
A bit diificult to find in the back alley, but very safe and welcoming once you arrive.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rohobot also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Rohobot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rohobot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.