We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Teppanyaki, good but pricey food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant

Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant
Hill Street off Chaza st | off Toure Rd Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
(0)755268228
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 173 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Finland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fun Teppanyaki, good but pricey food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Amazing Teppanayaki show that the children (and adults) liked a lot. The food was good. We were 6 people with 6 different portions, 3 beers, and water, the bill was 250,000 tsh = 150 USD / 110 EUR. This makes around 20 EUR / 25 USD per peson - pricey. There is a 5 % surcharge when paid with Visa. For the best show, ask Jackie as chef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second best options for sushi in Dar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The sushi was delicious, and their tuna roll with philadelphia was divine. More expensive and not as cozy scene than ashibe, but go here for the fun teppanyaki chefs!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food, slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Food is fantastic, especially the beef. The chefs do a good performance during the tepanyaki sessions which somehow jusifies the high prices. We were six people and ordered four dishes plus sushi. No problems with the owner as others have reported here...Maybe he was not around :-) Lucky us...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food poor customer service average ambiance steep prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Poor customer service. Good food. The worst ambiance.
Owner has no customer focus at all. Its always a huge argument. Food is good. Prices are steep compared to quality of service and ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Owner has very poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food is great, especially the tepanyaki. However, I was extremely disappointed by the service standards shown by the owner who is an old Japanese man who doesnt speak english very well. We had a reservation for a group of 6 at the tepanyaki table but we decided to order both sushi and tepanyaki. The owner insisted that we should order more tepanyaki and take the sushi home. When we agreed to order more tepanyaki dishes and reduce the sushi, he then came back and said that the sushi is already prepared and we have to pay for it regardless. I will not be a repeat customer because of the owner's negativity and poor attitude! Even the chefs and the waiters were empathetic to our situation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.