We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the atmosphere but for the food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant

Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant
Hill Street off Chaza st | off Toure Rd Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
(0)755268228
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 192 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not for the atmosphere but for the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is in terms of atmosphere not a great restaurant, but the food is truly excellent. The sushi and sashimi are fresh and delicious. I highly recommend it. In Tanzanian terms it is expensive, but in Western/Oriental terms very reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of Dar's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great restaurant, offering a while range of sushi, always clean and great food. It is expensive in comparison to other restaurants but worth the extra!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Oriental'ic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

nice place to enjoy oriental food, only descent tepinyaki food in Dar (recommended).
service not always good (depending which waiter you got lucky with) but food is good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun show, good teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great place to bring visitors to Dar. Don't waste time on the sushi, but don't miss out on the teppanyaki! Staff put on a good show and the place overall has a great atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka Province, Zambia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“First and last!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Took my wife for our anniversary and I do not know where to start. Service staff hanging around and even by waving my hand we still get ignored. Upon asking a simple beverage order they brought the wrong drinks and upon return without glasses or ice. Starter Sushi, nicely done and that was the only good thing I can mention. Main course with peppered price, could hardly find 5 cubes of meat in my stirfry which was poorly flavored. Obtaining my bill I still had to wait around 15 minutes for final settlement. Management not to be seen. Thanks but no thanks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Sushi & Teppanyaki restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.