We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place in Dar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanzanite Executive Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tanzanite Executive Suites to your Saves list
Tanzanite Executive Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place in Dar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed there two nights at the beginning and end of our trip in Tanzania and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious and clean (the room we had on the second floor was better than the room we had on the eighth floor), the staff was nice and the restaurant had a decent food selection. One suggestion I would make is that they use PayPal in order to avoid the 5% transaction fee (this is normal throughout Tanzania). I also wish that they would have charged me for my entire stay prior to arrival rather than charging me separately for both nights stay and our airport transfers to avoid additional international bank fees. If you're going to stay there you should ask them to charge you in full at one time. Also their price for airport transfers is reasonable but make sure you have the right times arranged - despite them making me send them exact flight detail for all of our airport transfers (rather than just flight times) the guy that was supposed to drive us on our last day was very late. Luckily things are usually late in Africa so we didn't miss our flight but it was very nerve wracking.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are bigger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    196
    40
    22
    17
See reviews for
89
117
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Orr family of 4 stayed in a large, 3 bedroom apartment. It was huge. There was a dining table that could seat 8, so it was kind of funny that they have a "no guests" policy! We were very comfortable here, and ended up returning at the end of our Tanzanian trip. At the time we stayed, there was no restaurant, and that was the only downside, so now that there is one, I would highly recommend it for families. The administrative staff was efficient and helpful. We liked having access to the free computers in the lobby so that we could send quick emails home. Room price was very fair for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I booked a single room. The room I was given had a big mildew problem. I explained to the hotel booking office that the mildew will cause an infection in the lungs of the guest. I got the response "you see sir when it is getting damp these things coming it is normal there's nothing we do about it". I was told that there was only one other room available so I took it. The other room stunk. The next morning I felt ill. I met again with the hotel booking officials to ask if they had another room. The booking officials were dishonest in their response and very disrespectful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night in between other accommodation in Dar. It was clean and the staff were courteous and helpful. The room had a strange layout and was rather dark, but it was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was decent. Overall, this is a nice place to stay downtown. The location downtown is nice and seemed safe, even by night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that don't face another building. You will likely have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in transit to our Safari and found it ok. The price point was great at under 100 dollars, but the hotel is a weird I can't put a finger on it, maybe it's the sign that tells you, you can't have visitors as if you are in a convent.

Free internet and breakfast are a nice touch and staff seems friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After reading the reviews about this hotel and browsing the website, I was convinced this would be a good choice. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. My room was stuffy, the Air conditioner had a mind of its own. If this had been the only issue I would have been ok with it. But The service was poor and the food cold. our tea order for breakfast came when were done with breakfast. I was even able to pick out undertones of racism amongst some of the attendants. that was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing rooms before booking if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

No doubt among the best hotels in the city centre. It’s very clean, beautiful restaurant but limited choice on the menu. It has courteous staff, free wifi and can print free of charge. It has a gym, sauna and Jacuzzi on top floor free for for patrons. A warning next to lifts says: “we have a strict no alcohol policy” and “ .we cannot allow any visitors in any guest rooms“.

Room Tip: in some rooms one can hear throughout the night the noise of machines or vacums which, I think, circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanzanite Executive Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.