We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanzanite Executive Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tanzanite Executive Suites to your Saves list
Tanzanite Executive Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a perfect stay just before we headed home. They arranged with taxi and breakfast in the middle of the night and helped us when the Wifi was acting weird.

The beds were quite hard, but the covers and pillows were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    175
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
84
102
44
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed just one night upon arrival in Tanzania as we were catching up the ferry the day after. We were very satisfied with the transfer pick up, welcome and service (we could have a dinner in our rooms at 10pm), the comfortable and clean room. The staff is doing its utmost to help you. Maybe breakfast could be a little improved. We had a little walk around the morning and there is not much to see -although we cannot judge the location for the purpose of visiting the city - but location is really ideal for catching the ferry - and the hotel offers complimentary transfer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent a week in this hotel while on business. It has great rooms for the price charged compared to a number of other Dar hotels within the same range so it is a great deal for 'price-chasers' or those operating on tight budget. The staff are super friendly and very professional and the internet speeds are good. However, alcohol is not allowed in the hotel and the gym has separate times for male and females so for those of you who are partly motivated to go to the gym by the opposite sex, too bad! :)
Their breakfast is also rather monotonous and with little options. The daily menu reads like baked beans, Spanish omelette, bread, juice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from both Zanziar ferry terminal and main train station.

Rooms are spacious and well layed-out with large bathroom/shower.

Satellite TV with good selection of channels, and strong WIFI connection.

Plenty of local restaurants in local area. Room also has microwave, toaster and tea/coffee facilities. There is a supermarket a block up the street called 10-to-10 if you want to stock up on bread etc.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Dar was just a stop-by on our trip to Zanzibar. Not much expectation on hotels there so we just chose a simple and basic place to stay.

We thought it is more like a cool hotel for business people, but in contrast, staff there was very friendly and helpful. They offered us a complimentary drive to the ferry pier and also left luggage service for the days we were in Zanzibar.

Location is good too. Walking distance to the central area. Though no restaurant in the hotel, there're plenty of choices of local restaurants near by. They are actually better than those western-style restaurants in the central area we think.

Rooms are simple and you may say they are lack of character, but if you are not particularly picky you'll be happy about them. Free wifi also available (the only place we stayed in our trip which provide free wifi)

Overall we enjoyed the stay there, good value and nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel driver picked us up on the airport and took us to the hotel for 20 USD, - perfect. We had ordered a junior suite, but got a huge three bedroom apartment with separate bathrooms and a big kitchen, without any extra costs. Later we moved to a Junior Suite, and it was quite ok too.The staff is friendly, and service minded.
This is a muslim hotel, and any use of alcohol is prohibited. There is no restaurant, the only meal you will get is breakfast, and it was simple, but ok I guess.
If you want to go out for a beer and a restaurant there is Tiffany Diamond Hotel just around the corner with a nice restaurant and good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel staff, specifically at the reception, were always available and always accommodating to our needs. Airport service was great and we never waited for it, even for our 4:00am pick-up.
This hotel is situated in the middle of the busy city which makes it perfect for grabbing a taxi and shooting off to your business location (as we did for the week we stayed there). Although the hotel offers room service from a restaurant around the corner we rather enjoyed going for supper to the various locations in and around the hotel and easily managed to find a place every night by foot. We were two (2) men walking the streets, but never felt under threat from muggings. A Bureau de Change was also within walking distance, which was handy when we suddenly ran out of shillings. The breakfast menu can do with a larger variety in the hot items, but that which was there was of a good quality (loved the coffee machine).

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great for the layout and view, but the WiFi lacks a good signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanzanite Executive Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.