We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD BUDGET HOTEL WITH INDIAN COOK &FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rainbow Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow Hotel
Plot No. 1900/59 Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD BUDGET HOTEL WITH INDIAN COOK &FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a very good Budget Hotel for Business Travellers located in downtown close to all markets.
The Restaurant & reception have Indians working there and they speak good Hindi.
Budget rooms US $ 45 are small but very clean & neat with good aircon and LCD TV. Economy rooms are big enough for a family for US $ 60. Lot of good reataurants & supermarkets are available very close to the hotel.
Taxis are available 24 hrs at the hotel entrance. Grand Casino is a few steps away.
Ferry stations to Zanzibar is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Budget travellers single room is Ok. For family go for double room Guest friendly hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
15
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The managment , reception and service staff was very courteous and friendly.the breakfast menu should be looked into too
A few minor maintenance upgrades required
But it was a great 2 days we spent there
Keep up the good work

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Its awesome location....very good restaurant good tast of food..infact very good....nd specialy all the staff are very friendly. ..I enjoyed my stay der....will look to stay every time wen come comes to dar e salam....
HUSSY

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

the hotel is good and price is affordable and resonable . the location of the hotel is in central area of the city, just five minutes walk to get zanzibar ferry. helpful staff, good indian spicy and delicious food i had in restaurant of the hotel. ,even late night air port transport is available . i enjoy my stay. great budget hotel in dar es salaam for business trip.

Room Tip: deluxe double and deluxe twin rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you are coming for business or to spend time out and about then this is the perfect hotel. Good value for money with all the requirements we need. Hot water, Room Service, Back up generator and safe.
Staff are good and will always try to help. Avesh is always there to assist and will see to it that your requirement is met. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This Rainbow Hotel is the biggest toilet I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. Mostly unfriendly staff, small cramped dirty room and potential food poisoning in the restaurant with badly undercooked fish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

i stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights as i was on business. I can honestly say i have never been to a hotel where i have been made to feel so welcome and at home. Avesh who works for the hotel was very helpfull and always had an answer to my questions and had many recomendation for places for me to visit. I must say he and the other staff there are a credit to this hotel and country. I am looking forward to my next business trip which is in 3 months.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: Plot No. 1900/59 Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hotel is located in the heart of Dar-es-salaam city centre. Zanzibar Ferry terminal is only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. There are lots of shops, restaurants, shopping malls, banks just as you step out of the hotel. The hotel has 75 rooms comprising of :16 singles, 24 standard doubles, 16 deluxe doubles and 16 twin rooms. We also have 3 apartments ( 1x 1 bedroom & 2 x 2 bedrooms). All bedrooms are ensuite and come with air conditioning, cable tv and free internet (Wi-Fi). We have a multi-cuisine restaurant which sits upto 90 people. There is also a Conference centre located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.