We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nawabi Khana

Nawabi Khana
Haile Selassie Road | Oysterbay, Dar es Salaam 80519, Tanzania
+255 778 111 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 160 restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nawabi Khana Upscale Indian outletThis up market stylish restaurant sets new standards for Indian dining. Its a sleek,rustic design and authentic food place above the rest in dar es salaam which makes it the number one restaurant in the city.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good Indian meal served in a nice setting, makes a change from the normal Dhaba style food available everywhere. The food is rich so I wouldn't recommend making this your regular Indian fix as there are plenty of places you can pick up a good Indian meal at half the price. Another point to remember is to book as this place gets busy at weekends especially. I would put it on an equal footing to Alcove.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    43
    34
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Great Indian for good value. Friendly staff and atmosphere. I love the place and am becoming a regular!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our favorite indian, make that our favorite restaurant in dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I always look forward to dinner at Nawabi Khana, it has deserved the many good reviews. It has a nice atmosphere, attentive staff, friendly management, and above all, mouthwateringly delicious food. It is very unique Indian food , and somehow they manage to give each dish its own distinct flavor. Can leave you feeling a bit full, but it's so worth it. Also very reasonably priced. Definitely in my top ten list, no top three, no, top restaurant of all in Dar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Best indian food you can eat in all east Africa with good service....I found it perfect identity of great Indian traditional food with finger leaking taste....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

great Indian food, and the place is well decorated and clean. family environment. the kind of place id take my wife to when we have a celebration.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawabi Khana also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Nawabi Khana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nawabi Khana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.