We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home ( for SA'ners )” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Ridge Spur

Coral Ridge Spur
Shop No. 1 Sea Cliff Village Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
764 700 657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 160 restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Dessert, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Spur serves its famous flame-grilling burgers and steaks, fresh salads and decadent desserts to families from all over the world. As a distinctly family-orientated brand, we offer an environment where the whole “tribe” can come relax and enjoy themselves. This is the way it has always been at Spur and the reason why we have found a special place in the hearts of our customers over several generations!
Pemba, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just like Home ( for SA'ners )”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Again a Spur is a Spur. Same set-up, same menu but now with Kilimanjaro beer. Well situated in Sea Cliff Village with ATM, Mini-Market and play center. I you are overwhelmed by Indian/Coastal menus this is a great break specifically for South Africans. Salad Valley is good value but a medium spread. Regular Combo Specials for Carnivores and Seafood Lovers. The service is typically "Karibu" excellent. Smoking area and Sport's Flat Screens.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    12
    30
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good generally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is one of the few places I can take my family and not worry about flies as my youngest child is a slow eater. The service is prompt amd friendly, the food is of good quality and always tasty. It is annoying that sometimes when I do take aways I get what I did not order.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spur Coral ridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Used to visit Spur a lot during a 1 year stint in Namibia, we literally lived in the place and had fond memories of great ambience and some good food
Decided to revisit while in Dar, and went to the Coral ridge.
Food was decidedly average, prawn starter,, chewy rubber perhaps the worst prawns i have ever had while next to the coast period, Steak and prawns main course, the steak seemed like a decent fillet, a little on the blue side for medium rare. overall, tasteless.
And as mentioned here, the onion rings left a lot to be desired. Very uninspiring.

Dessert was great, but HUGE, couldnt finish it, best part of the meal
Probably a good place for the kids or a large group, ambience is nice, and place is busy enough. Fast service, but at least 3 hints about leaving a tip, 2 of them before i even had the bill. All in all a little disappointed. Wont be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good and great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When I'm in need of a good feed and fun dining experience I go to Coral Ridge Spur. i'm from the UK so I love the western menu... It is consistently good food and you can bring your kids there as there's a staffed play area. We found that if you feed your young children beforehand, then release them into the play area, you can have an uninterrupted dining experience... Perfect! I've worked my way through the menu and my favorites are the hot-rock fillet and the ribs. A great birthday venue. The staff are great, they are kind and courteous (we always get a bag of bones for our dogs). I wasn't impressed with their prawns, but they are a steak-house after all. if you want sea-food go upstairs to Fishmonger. Great desserts, WiFi for a working lunch and separate smoking area. A safe bet for ex-pats and tourists, I love it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere, bland but very pricey food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Went the a couple of days ago for my girlfriend's bday dinner..great atmosphere to have such a meal..but the food is uninspiring to say the least..with such high prices i expected to be blown away but alas..special mention to the onions ring by far the worst i ve tasted..that said the staff is helpful and attentive..management needs to take a look into their food quality and presentation

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Ridge Spur also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region

Been to Coral Ridge Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Ridge Spur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.