We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant

Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Kawe Beach | Tuari Road Plot 432, Dar es Salaam 36110, Tanzania
+255754812567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 158 restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Benvenuti and welcome to Mediterraneo Hotel, and karibu to Tanzania!We’ve designed our family-run hotel with relaxation, romance, and leisure in mind. Set around beautiful landscaped African gardens, bursting with tropical flowers and shaded by palm trees, the cool interiors of our rustic cottage-style rooms offer welcome relief from the Tanzania sun, while our restaurant dishes up gorgeous Mediterranean cuisine. Mediterraneo is the only Dar Es Salaam hotel that offers a true home away from home experience, with our friendly staff and excellent attention to detail. Whether your stay in a Dar Es Salaam hotel is for business, leisure, or simply pleasure, Mediterraneo has all you need.We look forward to meeting you, and, like many of our guests, we hope to see you here time and time again.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great food, albeit we had to wait for 1,5 hours to get it (but we were a big company of 12 people...) Cosy atmoshpere almost right on the beach - nice to hear the ocean at night!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    23
    25
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You want a relaxing meal & view be here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If there is a place you wont regret spending your money is mediterraneo the service is the vaule for your money, food is fast and soooo sooo delicious my son adores the place the servants are friendly for a moment i thought i was home!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The setting of Mediterraneo is lovely- it is a beautiful place to go for dinner after a day of diving at White Sands, or just any day that you want to feel that you are a bit out of the city and off the peninsula!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great ambiance, average food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Mediterraneo, give you a hide out from busy Dar.scenic setting with view on the bay. Unfortunately the service and the food doesn't match the first impressions. The quality of service and food gives you a hard wake up from the scenic environment. Good for having sun downers and romantic sunsets on the "deck". Not for a good meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only thing close to a euro-clubbing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok, i've had a pizza here, it was pretty good but quite expensive. The real reason i go here is the Third Saturday of every month they have a club night. This is the only club night out in Dar that i rate positively. I'm from the UK. I love house and dance music and I dislike RnB, sweet reggae and bongo flavour. When you've had enough of the former blaring out of radios, mobile phones, bars and clubs 24/7 this place is an oasis of normality. Full of ex-pats, tourists and locals alike, it feels like you're in the Balearics. If you like a drink bring plenty of cash because, like Ibiza, you will spend it all on cocktails, vodka red-bulls, etc.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.