We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ with fabulous atmosphere - the road side feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamboz Restaurant

Mamboz Restaurant
Corner Morogoro Rd & Libya ST, Dar es Salaam 7420, Tanzania
255-784-243735
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 173 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Local BBQ & Chinese Fusion Locally Owned and Full Family Operated Business. Relatively New* Come Check it out and ask for our Fav. Specials.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent BBQ with fabulous atmosphere - the road side feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Food couldn't get any better ... The chicken sekela is just to die for !! The passion fruit juice just refreshed me instantly ... Beef chilly was awesome and the garlic Anna's just killed it !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    89
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quick chicken grill in the heart of the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A simple and value for your money ...Barbecue restaurant.....in the heart of the city......served very fast.....overall the food is ok compared to other chips -kuku joint......budget dinner for visitors.....$ 5 ......more then enough for s single person for a quick chicken chips dinner

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, can be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everything seemed average about this restaurant. Price was good and food was delivered within 10 minutes of placing the order. But other than this I didn't find anything special about the place

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Since I had Mamboz, the food is consistant and very flavored. I enjoy all kind of variety and try every time different. Mamboz is very popular not only with tourists but with locals & affordable price...I would highly recommend this once again... I will be back Mamboz...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good bbq at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Amazing bbq food. Best quality meats we had in Tanzania. Very flavourful. We had the Mamboz combo and then ordered more chicken. Meal comes with bread or fries.

The owner was very friendly and explained the menu.

We were there at 630 when they first opened and found things to be very clean and service quick.

Prices are very reasonable. I believe cash only.

Seems to be popular with both tourists and locals.

You are sitting on the corner of the street outside so you can take it Dar as everyone walks by.

We stayed at Hotel Nikko Tower and it was a quick walk to Mamboz.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamboz Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mamboz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamboz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.