We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamboz Restaurant

Mamboz Restaurant
Corner Morogoro Rd & Libya ST, Dar es Salaam 7420, Tanzania
255-784-243735
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Local BBQ & Chinese Fusion Locally Owned and Full Family Operated Business. Relatively New* Come Check it out and ask for our Fav. Specials.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Travelled August 2011. Great BBQ food and the atmosphere in the evenings is great. All the local appear to love this place as it is always packed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    74
    76
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza, Mwanza, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Thursday and Saturday Band!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing band and good drinks! Didnt have any food but loved the entertainment! Has a really nice vibe....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should not be listed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wonder how this place has got so many reviews! firstly it is not a restaurant it is a curb on the side of a main street in Dar es Salaam Tanzania. I used trip advisor to plan my business trip in Tanzania as I didn't know anyone in dar es salaam. I would advise anyone traveling to Dar es Salaam that does not want to get sick to not go there EVER! the chicken they serve there looks like something they have pulled off the street before putting out there tables. service is Swahili or finger pointing. there are stray cats and dogs and the occasional begin child outside stalking you why you eat. sorry but wont be going back if I ever go back to dar es salaam there are better places

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanenayani, Manager at Mamboz Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your honest and candid review, we appreciate the comments from all our members and fans of Mamboz. If you go down several reviews and user comments and pictures representing our setup as a road side barbeque not as a fancy restaurant on the high life of Dar-es-Salaam. We have a simple setup of some few chairs and tables on the roadside. Our customers have rated our flagship chicken “Sekela” and the ultra fiery “Gajjar” Chicken as being the most tastiest of flame grilled barbeque chicken.

My apologies for your most recent shortcoming at Mamboz. We would have really appreciated if your experience would have mentioned to us(owners). As we are always around trying to manage the place and make sure all customers are attended to in a timely manner.

Mamboz is family Mom’ and Pop’ Shop. Where it’s a purely family run restaurant. Everything is prepared by my mom and tested before cooked always by my dad. These are the Couple who are at the counter. The bald guy, who always on the move is me Shane who heads the waiters and is in charge of all items delivered and ordered at Mamboz on all our tables. We are happy to say that we always will be only a hand gesture or call away for anyone of us to be available to listen to you what ever your comment and view and critisim.

Thanking You & Hope to see you soon.

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The bbq was very good, prices for main courses with fries and salad were at around 3 euroes. I was not affraid to eat the meat (usually I am concerned about Tanzanian sanitation and condition of the meat). And I was right, cause nothing bad happened the day after:P:)))
The place runs out of ambiance, it is more like a street bar. But we had nice time with friend and the most important issue.. the food is safe:) have fun in Tanzania! Hakuna matata:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice food. they have Indian food like chicken with masala and chilly made like BBQ and they have meshkaki its a beef BBQ with also masala or without but you have to try it very reasonable price and good service it located in the city center

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamboz Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mamboz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamboz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.