We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamboz Restaurant

Mamboz Restaurant
Corner Morogoro Rd & Libya ST, Dar es Salaam 7420, Tanzania
255-784-243735
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 163 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Local BBQ & Chinese Fusion Locally Owned and Full Family Operated Business. Relatively New* Come Check it out and ask for our Fav. Specials.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Excellent Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The meat is great with an excellent selection and you never find yourself regretting the wait. The Salad however is none existent and all but one option. Not good as are the chips but the Grill compensates for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    79
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious food - You got wait for what is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely love it!!! Mamboz food's great! tons of people!!! big portions and low prices, extremely reasonable (at least for American/European/Italian standards....) even for locals affordable!!!

We were highly recommended by our friends from Denmark, Switzerland. My friends told me to make atleast one stop @Mamboz, ours became everyday stop whilst in the city. Recommended this place to my 'peeps' because it’s been consistently delicious. The servers & owners are very friendly and the restaurant is energetic in good way. We were warned that it might take long to get our food because of how busy they were & yes, was absolutely packed, the wait was worth it. BBQ was a really nice surprise--Smokey and flavorful. No matter what you decide to choose, there will be no regrets. We were a group of 7 & almost tried everything -- there are a variety of appetizers, side orders and entrees -- variation of flavored chicken & wings.

Mamboz is very popular not only with tourists but with locals and you certainly get value for money, no complains for petty things, if our order is late or mistake in fries, no big deal, it happens even when you pay $75bucks for a plate. Yo Mamboz keep it up, will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

If you're hungry and are looking for great food in Dar, Mamboz is the place to be at!

Excellent food and amazing service.

Wishing them all the best!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit for Food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I do have to say first off I'm not from Dar, so I did try eating at several BBQ restaurants here... but MAMBOZ’s food is something out of this world.

I recommend the Gajar Chicken, Chicken Pili Pili and Snapper Pili Pili, they are really good... My friends had BBQ Prawns and they said it was awesome.

The prices are affordable and service was great. I was impressed by the interaction of the owner with customers and this made me feel like coming again and again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“100% agree with HusaynKara's comments: can't stand the heat, get take out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had so many recommendations from friends & relatives to visit MAMBOZ, I had planned my trip last summer with family. We had an awesome experience at MAMBOZ... the food was delicious and the price you cant go wrong at all...the service was good, as the place was packed and we knew so we wanted to catch this moment of busy time.
One of the owner, Shan came to our table and greeted us -- he was courteous & friendly that we felt so comfortable talking to him just like an American friend, yes, rare you see owner comes to the table -- in our conversation we found he was from New York... I would not hesitate to recommend this awesome restaurant MAMBOZ to anyone & we had the best experience.
MAMBOZ keep it up as my family says the QUALITY is same as ever....WISH YOU BEST OF LUCK TO THE MANAGEMENT & you will find some retards-losers crying for fries... Shan, loved your honesty that you said go ahead and write on tripadvisor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamboz Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mamboz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamboz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;