We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The number 1 in Dar es salaam!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamboz Restaurant

Mamboz Restaurant
Corner Morogoro Rd & Libya ST, Dar es Salaam 5983, Tanzania
+255 784 243 735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 188 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Local BBQ & Chinese Fusion Locally Owned and Full Family Operated Business. Relatively New* Come Check it out and ask for our Fav. Specials.
Dar es salaam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The number 1 in Dar es salaam!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Here you have it, the highest rated restaurant in Dar es salaam, is hardly even a restaurant. This road side eatery is well known for the best authentic dishes popular with the Asian community that has lived in Dar es salaam and Tanzania for much over half a century.
They also prepare many traditional dishes which makes this one place you can rely on if you're willing to explore and tantalize your tastebuds with a bit of real Tanzania, for this you will always find a couple of groups of Tourists dining by the road side in Downtown at night.
Despite the hygiene concerns and other factors that would definitely write off Mamboz from the top restaurant list, the fact that the food has for years been the residents overwhelming favourite and remained consistent.. means, you will just have to drop by, adapt and enjoy the great meals.
Quick staff, BBQ and other gourmet dishes. Dont fret if the place is not much to look at, the flavours will do the blinding. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    101
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent street style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After coming over with the ferry from Zanzibar we checked in at the hotel and wanted a quick bite before going to bed, the hotel reception recommended Mamboz just around the corner. We were a bit sceptic about the hygiene when we saw the place. However we decided to try it and sat down and received excellent service. After the food arrived on the table we were sold, it tasted delicious. Personally I recommend a hot Mamboz Combo in order to taste a bit of everything they offer but every dish where liked by our group of nine. Excellent value for money and nice atmosphere, go try it out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get a taste of the local cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The place is on a great corner, and serve food on the street. great view of the night life. A bit of a downer as the main road to the place is still under construction.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special Prawns and Fish Fingers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

@ Mamboz, Order Special Prawns and Fish Finger... One of Mamboz signature dishes.
Have been going almost twice a week to have either one of them and have never gone wrong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Mishkaki was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was staying at Rainbow hotel up the road from here and although I loved Rainbows restaurant, Mirch Masala, I would eat here at least once a week. I would highly recommend both these restaurants

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamboz Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mamboz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamboz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.