We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little bit scary but practical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riki Hill Hotel

Riki Hill Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riki Hill Hotel
Save
You added Riki Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Kleist Sykes Street | P.O.Box 31673, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 62 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“little bit scary but practical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

The lobby(?) is dark, small, strange, in a unpaved road, a bit scary if you arrive at night, and the room is not nice. But is well located (though not very near the harbour) and everything works relatively well. Seems to fit better for business travellers. I would recommend for budget travellers

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

beds were good although we were covered in bites the next day, not sure if it was the terrace bar across the road or the beds. Safe didn't work, but reception happy to help. Shower didn't work, breakfast basic but ok.

Dar Es Salaam is not a tourist friendly place, by all means use this place for a stop over for Zanzibar, but do not expect anything more than relief when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Good location. Rooms have a balcony! we had a very nice view on te business district
It s a real hotel ( > 50 rooms)not a bed and breakfast
Nice terrace with local cuisine opposite the hotel
Roomrate is $50,00 for double room with airco
Highly recomended

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights here before heading to Zanzibar. Room was basic and clean, with mosquito net and air con, which was very welcome. Shower had hot water. A really good choice for budget or mid-range travelers ($54 US a night for air con double). On a side street, and guarded by security it seemed most of the time. Staff were friendly and helpful, if a little slow. Went out of their way to call us taxis and to find us what we needed (we couldn't find a phone card after going to several places; the doorman went out to find us one) Safes in the rooms didn't work, but we locked our stuff at reception no problems. We ate at the restaurant one night, which was nothing fancy but pretty tasty. Good breakfast (also nothing fancy) included. Also, there's an outdoor bar across the way. Close to the city centre, ferry port, Scandanavian Express Bus Station.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riki Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riki Hill Hotel

Address: Kleist Sykes Street | P.O.Box 31673, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riki Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.