We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at DoubleTree Hilton Hotel - Dar-es-Salaam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay at DoubleTree Hilton Hotel - Dar-es-Salaam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is very new and has an excellent location. The rooms are well furnished, clean and bright. There is extensive security, which is most reassuring. i arrived at the airport, and was met by my requested hotel supplied transportation. the driver was smart and courteous, the vehicle quite new. the driver was experienced and good, skilfully avoiding a near accident which was not his fault. Check-in was easy, and fast. as a Hilton Honors member this was recognised and i was given an upgraded room. departure was similarly efficient. the breakfasts were excellent, with my omelette made to perfection. dinner in the restaurant on the evening i used the facility was very good. there was a huge selection on the buffet. my only complaint was that the restarant was very crowded due to some kind of a conference going on at the same time, which meant that it was rather noisy, and there was limited seating available for regular hotel guests. overall, an excellent stay - i would willingly stay at DoubleTree Hilton dar-es-Salaam again, and certainly highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    173
    65
    29
    12
See reviews for
15
40
25
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pabuc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

NOT central located but good oppertunities for activities (walks, boat trip, restaurant, bars, massage etc) nearby in walking distance (f. e. slipway area, 5 min walk)
Feeling: beton block from the 80s, dark restaurant, but beatiful gard - pool area, big rooms; view: only the sea side rooms have a view!
Staff: friendly, but it must cost the GM an abundance of patience to train them in caretaking and concentration.
Internet: for free, wireless ok, but horrible register system (kick out the user all the time and need to re- register in a complicated way).

Room Tip: request sea view room in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Pabuc
Thank you for your valued response. We are in the process of reviewing our IT provider and the full service aspect of this service and should have the connectivity issues sorted soon. Our rooms are currently being upgraded with Full HD 42" Flatscreens etc. I trust you will notice the changes when you revisit. Thank you for your positive comments regarding staff friendliness and the gardens. Positive comments are always a big morale booster and the Team appreciates this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Comfortable stay, rooms with beautiful view over-looking the pool if you are lucky enough to get one with such a view.
The service at the outdoor sitting area could be improved upon.It was slow.
The pool area is good & refreshing. The breakfast is average.
Overall a good hotel & would recommend it for short business trips

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Your feedback is important to us; thank you for taking the time to post it.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and clean rooms. sometimes due to the high demand of our seaview rooms it's difficult to get them, Please take advantage of our offers through our online booking-channel as well as registering for Hilton Honors through our main website and you will be able to set your requirements in advance.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

With Regards


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is nothing special the write home about, but fulfills most of you everyday hotel needs. Not a place for a special occasion (honeymoon, etc.) but OK for the regular traveller. Plus points - the pool, great views (when the tide is in), in a reasonably safe area of Dar
Negative points - the gym is very poor, food average at best, its quite expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Try to get a rear facing room. Rooms at the front can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect about our hotel, your review is very important to us.

I agree with you, we have a beautiful view of the ocean, bigger pool than most of the hotels on our level and one of the safest areas in Dar es Salaam - home to many embassies, residences as well as international companies.

In regards to food, the Chef and the Food and Beverage team has been informed. However, during the next stay, i recommend that you take the time to sample our famous & delicious barbeque buffet menus on friday and saturday at the Pool bar accompanied by a band. Asante sana (thank you).

With Kind regards,

Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed in a few doubletree hotels around the world for business, and this is the worst of all of them. But then you have to put into context. Tanzania is in the midst of massive growth, and electricity and clean water are still a challenge. My room (315) was spacious and clean although only a view of the street outside. Don't use the water to brush your teeth, but the Indian food in the restaurant was good quality. It is probably the best hotel in Dar, but it doesn't have much to compete against at the moment. The Tanzanian people are friendly and cheerful with a beautiful country, so be aware that a developing country is struggling to match people's "western" expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for voting us as the best hotel in Dar es salaam. We are a 4* hotel , yes theres still work to be done and we are constantly training our staff on service delivery amongst other important guest needs.
I agree with you, Tanzania is a very beautiful country with very friendly people and we are trying as much as possible to match every guest's expectations.
I hope you got to learn a few swahili words from our friendly staff.

Asante sana (thank you) and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

With Kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on March14,2013. The property is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. My problem with this hotel was the service. We had driven for 11 hours to get here and arrived at 7:30 pm. We were told our rooms were not ready(we were traveling with another couple). We were told to have a seat. After 25 minutes, we asked if the rooms were ready. The desk staff was totally unconcerned. After 45 minutes, the rooms were ready. We were furious and WE had to ask for some kind of compensation. We were told to eat supper on them. Eventually, the manager came over and apologized?I had seen him standing around and didn't realize he was the manager. I realize that situations happen sometimes that are out of one's control, but this could have been handled in a different manner. I have emailed Hilton with no response.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am taking this opportunity to thank you for posting your review. I am absolutely sorry the bad experience of our hotel and for time taken to check you in.Pole sana (we are apologise), however, I am please to know that the Duty Manager took the innitiative to offer a dinner complimentary. We have notified the Duty Manager to be more involved with our guests so as to avoid a repeat of such a bad experience in the future.

We believe in second chances and we hope that you will make our hotel your choice of destination during your next stay in Dar es Salaam. Asante (thank you)

With Kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had 8 days at this hotel from 12th until 20th March 2013 for business trip. It is a comfortable hotel and we had a large, very clean and spacious room overlooking the pool and sea. The staff were very helpful.
The internet service offered is just terrible. Not stable, very slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is very important to us.
Yes i agree, we have very beautiful view of the ocean and also our well manicured gardens.
Our new and refurbished pool is specatular too especially at night.

We are working on improving the internet situation and i believe that during your next stay, you will notice the difference.
Asante sana (thank you), we are looking forward to your next stay.

With kind regards,

Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.