We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Watering Wine Prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Hotel
Save
You added Alexander's Hotel to your Saves list
Plot 1216 | Msasani, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Usa River
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eye Watering Wine Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went following personal recommendation. Found it using google maps, which took me right outside the Hotel but the outer exterior is so low key, I then drove around looking for a Hotel entrance. On finding it, we were told to park in the street by some disinterested Maasai guards, despite subsequently finding that there is space inside to park.

Went in and stood in what we thought was the restaurant for about 5 minutes. Nobody around. Eventually somebody came out of the kitchen, shot past us without a word and knocked on a door by the entrance. Some more minutes then an old man looked at us quizzically before spitting out that the restaurant was upstairs, turning on his heel and going into an office area.

Suitably chastened we found the restaurant upstairs in a terrace with a tin roof - nice. Waiter could barely speak English so kept getting the drinks order wrong. Wine list is ridiculously expensive. We ordered a Pouilly Fume which had potential but was not chilled sufficiently. Food, which was the main reason, we went was pretty ordinary. We had way better at Shooters Grill the night before.

Paid a stonking amount and as we left the old man (is he the manager or the owner) did not even bother to look up from his desk to wish us goodnight.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My husband and I went there for our wedding anniversary after some word of mouth recommendations but I need to say that wasn't very good.

The first impression when you go inside is very nice, nice arquitecture , nice house, looked promising!


The wine list is not very impressive for one place that has a such a nice cellar and the prices were astronomic!
In other hand the food was ok, but nothing special for that price.

The atmosphere, well that saturday night we were whole night alone…. so more intimate impossible! Even the waitress was watching a movie and we needed to ask him to put more higher the music….

My conclusion is that they need to work more in the menu and wine list ( maybe only one degustation menu that changes every 2 months?), it's sad to see one place like that with a lot of potential!

Looks like is more B&B...

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a small and exceptionally friendly hotel with an excellent and accommodating proprietor (Gordon). I have stayed here many times on business in the last year, and much prefer it to the larger hotels nearby. The food is good and well prepared, and they have an excellent covered terrace on the roof for eating, drinking or working. Rooms are clean and basic with TV, A/C and a fridge. Internet connection is slow so (like every other hotel in Dar) so you're better to buy a local mobile operator SIM and airtime and connect to the internet that way. Not many taxi drivers know where it is (it's on a back road off the main drag, which is a definite boon for the noise levels).

Room Tip: Rooms come wither with a walk-in shower cubicle or bath with a shower head you hold up yourself. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

In Dar for a few days business, really just looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay.
Alexander's was comfortable and hospitable. The public area/bar was very pleasant although better lighting would make working much easier.
Bedrooms were adequate, however the bathrooms could do with a fresh coat of paint and a good scrub.
Unfortunately during the 3 night stay, I was without power (wall plugs) for 2 nights which makes working very difficult.

Uncertain as to whether I'll stay there again next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My now wife and I were heading out to Tanzania to get married, we were on a bit of a budget and needed somewhere to stay in Dar for a couple of days while we waited for a lift inland. We found Alexander's on tripadvisor with no reviews, but it was in the right location and prices were very reasonable so figured we'd take a chance.

An air-conditioned 4x4 picked us up from the airport, drove us across town to this beaut of a place. Had a super friendly welcome and were shown to our poolside room. The room had everything you could ask for. Simple but clean, fresh and all well finished.

We went upstairs to the bar for a cold one and got chatting to the barman. We asked where we needed to go to get a local sim card for our phone. With a huge smile he got straight on his phone and sorted out the whole thing then and there. Starting off with a young lad turning up 15 mins later with a brand new sim, to him registering it against our passports, all properly for us, whilst serving us drinks at the same time.

The natural pool is gorgeous, no chlorine or chemicals, just a stunning way to relax, floating around in the shade of the trees, you forget you're in the city.

It's located only about a 10 min walk from Slipways, a great meeting place or spot to buy your tinga tinga souvenirs. That said, the food we had at Alexander's was just as good as slipways, and much cheaper too.

When in came time to leave, we were wished a very happy marriage and handed a massive bottle of champagne as a gift. We made reservations right then to stay there again on our way back out.

On our way back out we had a bridesmaid in tow with no where to go, so gave Alexander's a quick call for help, they arranged to set up another bed in our room for her and only asked her to pay for her breakfast the next morning. When we got there, there had been a cancellation, so our bridesmaid was put in her own room instead, still for just the cost of an extra breakfast.

I can't tell you how many time people bent over backwards to make our stay in Dar the best it could possibly be. I will never look to stay anywhere else in Dar. Alexander's is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times. You can keep your large chain hotels that provide a templated style. Alexanders is a family run boutique hotel that hits the spot. It is no more expensive but has a wonderful ambience. The pool is admitedly small and there is no gym. But there is good wifi. We recently held a conference here and it was a great success. The food is to die for. Gordon (the owner) buys his own produce. And is willing to adapt and suggest. Coming from Uganda where you avoid shellfish that has had to travel a long way by road, Dar is seafood heaven. I had the largest lobster I have ever seen (and Gordon tells me that it was small!). Rooms are comfortable if not plush, beds and pillows top class.
Look it is a boutique hotel. It is not the Hyatt Regency. But I will stay here every time I come to Dar.

Room Tip: All the same, all face in to the central courtyard with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

always book my colleagues and customers in this lovely, peaceful and cozy boutique hotel. the roof-top bar and restaurant make you believe you could be in Zanzibar. staff is very friendly and efficient

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Hotel

Address: Plot 1216 | Msasani, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An owner manager boutique hotel with beautiful rooms, elegantly decorated, all overlooking the swimming pool, providing a home away from home for the guests. The restaurant provides excellent food, and guests can choose from a good selection of wines in the unique wine cellar. The roof top lounge and bar has a tranquil atmosphere overlooking Msasani Bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.