We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Village

Sea Cliff Village
Toure Dr., Masaki, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 173 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Besthesda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice outdoor seating with beautiful view on the sea. We were expecting more items on the menu. The place can be pretty crowded at time and service can be slow. This place is all about the scenery and location.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    54
    23
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiabakari
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Last line of defense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Or rather, one of the last lines of defense, when you are in need of something you want to buy and cannot get in local supermarkets (although the situation has improved a lot these days comparing to what was in Dar a few years ago). When I wanted to buy Parmeggiano Reggiano, I knew I could get it in the village supermarket (these days sometimes I can get it in Shoprite instead of here). The other place I visit frequently there is the coffee shop, selling various coffee beans from coffee estate near Kilimanjaro (so I was told). Whenever I am in Dar, I go there for fresh coffee supplies. Perfect.

Fishmonger restaurant was nice back then when I was meeting with friends for business lunch or dinner, but it has been a while since I last was there.

Surely, if you want to see how many expatriates live in Dar, you should go to Sea Cliff Village. A real beehive of Wazungu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i really enjoyed that place, my recommendation is the sea food plate for two it is amazing very tasty and very high quality, it is a little bit expensive but it desrves

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

And when you are starved of pizza then this is the place to go! Variety of restaurants and great atmosphere. A little bit of first world in a very third world city.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different option!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Attractive option in a very nice environment! Great stores around, little Italy with all kids of Tanzanian gifts and a beautiful sunset, very romantic if you have a partner with you!. Slow service, regular food, but great place to be!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Cliff Village also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Sea Cliff Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.