We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great environment, decent food, terrible customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Epi d'or Cafe

Epi d'or Cafe
520 Haile Selassie Road | Masaki, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
786 669 889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 161 restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: French, Lebanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great environment, decent food, terrible customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Epi D'or is a cafe that serves a fusion of Lebanese/French/Continental cuisine. The environment with its small but lush garden is very pleasant. The added free Wifi is a great plus for some time to check emails or even write a report with a nice cup of whatever your preference.

The food/drink: The basics are good, you get your hot lattes and coffee which are all quite nice. The food however can be extremely salty. The Schawarmas are hardly anything to write home about, the sandwiches are ok, everything is just very mediocre and incredibly salty.

The real ugly is the staff, who seem completely confused (I have been there twice and on both occasions they would come to check the order several times and seem completely daft at simple comprehension). They also tend to be un-friendly and orders take up to 45 mins!

A 5 year old could probably run this place better.

There seems to be no proper management at all. I would stick to the coffee if anything but other than that, there are better places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    21
    35
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rome
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very poor service, had to wait over an hour and 25 min for my oder, customers that arrived after me got there food long before I did, staff does not seem to care, no management around. Food was ok but nothing to write home about. Would give this place a miss when next in Dar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Customer Service: Need Improvement!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a foreigner you have few expectations when visiting a place which seems to have an international standard profile. Food was ok, price not bad but the Customer Service is worse than ever! I know people tell me "people don't rush" in Tanzania, but I guess the culprit for this bad customer service is plainly mis-management of staff. The place could be better if this problem is eliminated...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We were at Epid'or today with the family. We tried the hummus and pita bread, shaawrma, and a few paninis. They were all good. The Lebanese sausage was just that, no other sides. We had hummus and pita bread as starter so that worked out to have it with the sausage. Kids enjoyed their paninis and we like the Lebanese fair. I don't suggest sitting close to playground unless you have very little kids. We have kids but not that little, 8,12. Lots of dust created from the playground. We didn't experience the slow service others have experienced. Not sure if dinner and lunch service is different. We also picked up some croissants from the bakery, looking forward to having them later.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great lunch location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had a very nice crepe during a quick business lunch at Epi d'or Cafe. The service was odd: my guest received her cappuccino and falafal way in advance of me getting my lemonade and crepe. It made for an uncomfortable time -- should she eat? shouldn't she eat,?how much longer is it going to be? We only have an hour here...

In the end it worked out OK, though we were 1.5 hours away from the office.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epi d'or Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region

Been to Epi d'or Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epi d'or Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.