We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cafe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Epi d'or Cafe

Epi d'or Cafe
520 Haile Selassie Road | Masaki Peninsula, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
+255786669889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 191 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, Lebanese, Coffee Shop, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located at Haile Selassie road in Masaki. Epidor has been 11 years of serving freshly bake bread and pastries. We also serve sumptuous Lebanese and Continental dishes. Excellent place for all kinds of functions.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

good coffee and outside sitting is very good and nice food.overall very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    51
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very slow service and food too salty..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was a Monthsary Celebration went wrong. Me and my wife arrived at 4pm and I ordered grilled fish fillet with mash potatoes, which was then the "special of the day" for TZS15,000 (almost US$10), and my wife ordered seafood platter with rice which cost TZS18,000. It took an hour before the food arrived, and the food was all mixed up, as the mash potatoes went with my wife's order, while her rice went with mine. We decided to swap the mash potatoes and the rice to fix the problem ourselves.

Food was too salty, which is not good if you got kidney problems.. but we just tried to ignore it to avoid ruining the day.

By the time we got the bill, the "special of the day" which was posted TZ15,000 on their entrance door turned out to be TZ19,000, and they claimed we ordered a la carte which was different! We showed the sign and let them know we are aware of what we're paying, so they later gave the correct bill. It's our first time having dinner here and we don't feel like coming back to this place ever again.

If you're reading this and thought of coming to dine at this restaurant, I don't think it would be a good idea based on our experience.

In Dar Es Salaam, always make sure the waiter confirms what you have oredered, and make it a point that you remember how much or what you have ordered coz in the end they will try to rip you off by either pretending that there was a "misunderstanding" on their part, or play dumb committting a mistake on the bill, or telling you the total amount, assuming that you won't bother for the details of your bill.

So foreigners..Beware (Unless you don't mind paying too much)!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food value for money nice relaxed ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Epi d'or manages to keep quality constant. Surprising menu with mix of Lebanese food (great mezza's) and continental food. Service is good. Ambiance is relaxed and agreeable. The WiFi works very well. Good value for money (although they charge you for the milk in your thea) welcome coffee is free.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice outside tables with fresh bakery items and good coffee

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and value for money too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I notice complaints here about service but perhaps there are different staff at night as we had dinner there and have no complaints about service whatsoever. The food was also really good and very reasonably priced too! We had chicken livers and spicy meat pastries for starters, then mixed seafood BBQ and a chicken shwarma for mains. The portions were generous (we had more food than we could eat) and it was all very tasty and well presented. My absolute favourite was the calamari but could not fault anything on our plates. The indoor restaurant is stylishly decorated and more formal than the casual outside area. It was a little quiet (perhaps as it was a Tuesday night) and therefore ambience was lacking a little but I would definitely go back and try more dishes from their menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epi d'or Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Epi d'or Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epi d'or Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.