We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

With some improvements done, I guess it will become a good place to stay in. The internet connection did not work at all. The rooms are spacious but needs to be improved on cleanliness. Its location is okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Amaan123,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

Thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to see your suggestions which are very good and we thank you for it. Your opinion is of paramount importance to us. We get to know what our guests want. It gives us an insight as to what our customers want from us and we are able to improvise our facilities and services as per the needs and wants of our customers. We have instructed our housekeeping team to look into the details of cleaning services so as to meet the expectations of our customers.

Thank you once again for your review .

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holidai Inn Dar Es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    124
    111
    36
    24
See reviews for
33
61
32
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morogoro, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a great location in the City Center, lots of restaurants nearby to walk to.

Room was clean and beds comfortable. Hotel was undergoing some renovations, but wasn't bothered by noise or dust. Good location in the City Center of Dar, close to ferry terminal if you need a spot to overnight before heading to Zanzibar.

Didn't eat in the onsite restaurants, but did try out a dessert in the rooftop bar. Felt it was overpriced for the portion size (7,000 shillings for a very small piece of apple pie).

The doorman has a list of taxi prices to frequent locations, be sure to take a look at it to ensure that you aren't being overcharged.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear azwildcat02,

On behalf of the management of Holiday Inn i would like to thank you for your time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.co.uk.

Thank you for appreciating the location of our Hotel. We constantly try to upgrade our services, so we have some renovation work going on on selected floors. We have instructed the renovation team to proceed with renovation work discreetly so as not to cause any inconvenience to the hotel guests. Regarding the pricing of the desert, i have asked the F&B Manager to look into the portion size of the dessert so that the price is justified.

Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to know about our drawbacks and also gives us an opportunity to improve our services.

We assure you of our best services at all times.

I look forward to meet you personally and offer you the best courtesies during your next visit to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best Regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar Es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 hours during our transit from Zanzibar to Istanbul. Very clean rooms and nice staff. Also room service food was decent. Although there was a giant construction nearby and can be a bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear I-B Mungan,

Greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam on www.tripadvisor.com.
Your feedback is important you us as it helps us to improve our services and live up to the expectations of our valued guests.
We are happy that you have appreciated our staff and the services very much. Our staff feels motivated by your appreciation. Unfortunately the construction next to our hotel is sometimes an irritant. We have been in touch with the management of the construction site and now they have taken some preventive measures to reduce the noise considerably, so as not to cause any inconvenience to our valued guests.

Thank you once again and looking forward to meet you again here at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. The service was good, the room was clean, the bed was really comfortable - more than that! It was brilliant.

The swimming pool was out of order while we were there though. We also paid for an executive room with the perks - but the perks were non-existent, the food on tap all day was nothing but a fridge full of coke and 7UP. There was no food on either of the days we visited and waited for more than half an hour.

But there is a roof top bar and restaurant, which was good - with nice views and atmosphere at night.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Ms jane P,

Greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam on www.tripadvisor.com. It always feels good to hear praises about ones property especially from our esteemed guests like you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at holiday Inn but we would like to apologize for the swimming pool being out of order. Now the fault in the swimming pool pump has been fixed and our guests are enjoying the services of the pool once more.

The services in the executive lounge have been checked and restored. We will ensure that the proper services are available all the time. We are happy that you enjoyed the roof top restaurant. We hope to offer best services at all times to all our esteemed guests like you.

Your feedback is important you us as it helps us to improve our services and live up to the expectations of our valued guests.

Thank you once again and looking forward to meet you again here at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.
Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Had a day stop in Dar Es Salaam with a number of colleagues. The taxi (for 5 of us ) cost USD $40 from the airport to the hotel. The journey was tortuous with very slow moving traffic and took probably 45 minutes. We all fell asleep in the taxi, not sure if it was through tiredness or the carbon monoxide leaking from the taxi's exhaust!
Check-in was reasonably quick. As a IHG Platinum card holder I was upgraded to a suite (room 501). The extra space was nice but the room was showing its age and in need of a good refurb, however the air conditioning worked very well. As with other Holiday Inns I've stayed in, the bed was very comfortable with a choice of soft and firm pillows.
Later I met a couple of my colleagues at the outdoor pool on the third floor. The pool was very small with only three deckchairs to sit on, no sun loungers. We telephoned to order some beers which took about 15 minutes to arrive. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the ground floor. There was a reasonable menu and the food was OK.
In the evening we met in the rooftop restaurant where there was a great atmosphere. The food when it arrived was plentiful but no more than average in quality.
We checked out late evening and paid USD $50 for the hotel shuttle. The trip to the airport took no more than 20 minutes as the roads were clear.
Would I stay at the Holiday Inn again? I wouldn't mind as I've stayed in a lot worse hotels but I'm sure there are better in Dar Es Salaam although probably none with a helipad!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Mr.Alhowt,

Greetings from Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on Trip Advisor. We thank you for appreciating the check-in and other facilities of our property especially the roof top bar & sheesha lounge. Sometimes the traffic in Dar Es Salaam and in case you travelling during the peak hours it becomes difficult to reach your destination. We do offer helicopter services from our hotel to the airport, which is an added advtantage of staying at Holiday Inn. In case you want to escape from spending time in the traffic jam you can always call us for flying you to your destination.
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for some inconveniences caused to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

after seeing previous reviews i was very apprehensive. But the hotel is well-situated, has good transport attached, super views from the rooms and overall experience was excellent. Downsides were the breakfast buffet which was lacklustre, and some of the serving staff a bit uninterested. exceptions were Mwayni in the restaurant and Michael ?s.b? in the Zanzibar coffee shop who were very helpful and cheerful. The outside coffee shop and upstairs bar and lounge excellent finds. reception (always important) was really welcoming, and Ali and Gladys especially helpful. Rooms were spacious and well appointed and wifi service good. Its not so safe to walk around by yourself, but with onsite transport that's not an issue. for sure i'd stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear PbWater,

We would like to thank you for your time to share your opinion about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on Tripadvisor.co.uk. We thank you for appreciating our services and specially mentioning the names of some of our star performers at the Reception and the restaurant. Your praises always motivates them to perform better.

We do offer transport round the clock for the safety and security of all our esteemed guests. We have an in-house registered transport agency with well trained drivers to look after all the transportation needs of all our guests round the clock.

We would also like to thank you for appreciating our Food and beverage outlets and services. Looking forward to meet you in person during your next visit to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best Regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar Es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I booked this because I have to visit Dar Es Salaam fairly frequently on business. The other hotels I've used on previous trips were incredibly noisy at night, so having a good night's sleep was top of my list of "must haves". The Holiday Inn rooms are comfortable and blissfully quiet at night so I'm glad to say that I slept well. They were also able to provide airport pick-up, even at midnight.

So far so good. However, the food at the hotel is uniformly awful. Because I was really busy on this trip, left early daily and got back late every evening, I was obliged to eat mostly at the hotel and really wished I didn't have to. Breakfasts consisted of the usual tired buffet of various unidentifiable mystery meat, eggs (I think that's what they were), and potato dishes that nobody ever seemed to eat. Yes, there are rolls and fresh fruit but the selection is limited. Suppers were dismal - I ate in the downstairs restaurant, I had room service, I ate in the rooftop restaurant, in an attempt to find something edible. The worst of the lot was something called a Meze medley, including tahini (which had the consistency and taste of wallpaper paste), fish cakes (fish and sawdust?) and pita bread (or was it cardboard?).

Boy, does this hotel need to find a new chef and kitchen staff!

Anyway, stay here if you want peace and quiet but my advice is, go somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Barbara,

We would like to thank you for your time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.co.uk. Since you have been travelling a lot and sleep quality was on top of your list, we are happy to note that you found the rooms very quiet and offer blissful sleep, as compared to other hotels in town.

We have noted your impressions about our Food & Beverage services and the same has been conveyed to our chef and the F&B manager who are working on your suggestions to improve our services.

Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to know about our drawbacks and also gives us an opportunity to improve our services.

We assure you of our best services at all times.

I look forward to meet you personally and offer you the best courtesies during your next visit to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best Regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar Es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.