We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but improvements needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St/ Upanga Rd Junction City Center Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Jstern115
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location but improvements needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a platinum member and I used reward points to pay for the entirety of my stay. At 15,000 points per night the hotel is a pretty good value and I had an executive non smoking room on the 9th floor with a great view over Dar Es Salaam.

First what's good: staff generally very friendly although not very quick or efficient when it comes to fulfilling requests, such as laundry or even refilling a cup of coffee. I arrived at the hotel after a warm walk from the ferry terminal and I was handed mango juice and a towel at check-in, which was a nice touch. The AC works well, the location was fantastic for my purposes and the breakfast is satisfying and affordable at $10. Room service makes a fantastic cheeseburger.

Now the bad: the rooms are very outdated for such a new establishment and I have a feeling that the quality of construction in general is subpar (hopefully not structural!). Building related issues included a shower and sink that often "sputtered" in a flowing/not flowing situation. In other words - problems with water pressure. At one point I flushed the toilet and water shot out at me, getting my shirt wet etc. Not pleasant! Towels are worn, the bed is hard, and these have to be the worst hotel pillows I have ever encountered. It is quite ironic since the standard Holiday Inn "hard" and "soft" labels have been placed on each set of pillows, but they all feel more like a towel. There was some dirt/stains on the bedsheets but nothing to fuss about. Other issues: room was cleaned at different times each day, often late in the afternoon; carpets are stained; on my second day bottled water wasn't provided until evening; and the offerings in the executive lounge were absolutely horrible! Mediocre "vegetable" sandwiches with bread, mayonaise and a slice of lettuce and some chicken and beef skewers. My reservation confirmation said "enjoy free breakfast in the executive lounge" but the lounge doesn't open until 10:30AM, so that wasn't helpful. That being said, the lounge host was very accommodating and pleasant to be around.

Anyways, this HI isn't horrible like some reviewers have claimed and I suppose it is an affordable-ish option compared to the other "international" standard hotels in Dar... It's just a shame because it's close to being a solid option but doesn't quite cut it.

Room Tip: I'd go for a high room with a nice view, preferably of the city and the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear JStern115,

Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, it is only with constructive criticism that we can continually work to improve our overall product. We appreciate your positive comments on our team's warmth and friendliness, it is the Tanzania 'Karibu' that everyone enjoys.

Due to under-utilisation we have amended the times of our Executive Lounge and we apologise that this was not communicated to you on arrival at the hotel. The lounge is now open from 10.30am till 10.30pm daily, and offers a range of business services for Executive Guests including complimentary tea, coffee and soft drinks throughout the day.

We are currently replacing the hotel's pillows, to maintain the Holiday Inn Brand Standards and on your next visit you will be once again able to selected your prefered pillow type.

Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    113
    108
    31
    22
See reviews for
31
58
29
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this property in the 4th week of Feb'13 for 5 nights.
Two things are great about this hotel - First - Staff (Very nice, smiling and helpful); Second - Location (heart of the city).
Food: I liked the paid food but the complimentry buffet breakfast is very limited and boring with same dishes repeated every morning.
Rooms are clean and spacious but bathrooms needs upgradation. Bathrooms also lack bathtubs.

Overall a comfortable stay especially due to staff and cozy room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Samrat W,

Thank you for your recent review, we are currently in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms and the 7th floor rooms will be completed within the next few days.

We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast buffet, we have always offered a traditional full english breakfast option, however we have recently added additional dishes to ensure that we cater for all tastes and nationalities where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam

Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on the 8th April 2013. For $170 it was terribly overpriced. The rooms were of a standard order, and the facilties adequate. However, in every bar and dining area, the football was on large screens and at full blast volume.

The staff were attentive and the prices for food and drink acceptable for this end hotel.

However, when discovering in the morning that breakfast was NOT included in the rate for the room i was shocked. It woud cost less to stay in a decent hotel in London with breakfast incuded.

It is also apparent that many of the ladys on the bar area are there to work.

Also, several of the facilities in our room didt work. Two lights were out of order, the safety deposit box didnt work.

Its safe, Its over priced. It needs to provide at least breakfast within their room rates.

There is also a pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear SarahandIan1,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is great to hear you liked the location of our hotel and that you found our staff attentive to attend your needs during your stay. My apologies for your disappointment with our facilities and the noise. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lusaka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

i spent only two nights there and its a beautiful hotel in the city centre.the rooms are spacious.the bathroom is clean,but what was dissappointing was the floor carpets which were not very clean.they could also do with an improvement in their breakfast menu

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Quality and Essence of Holiday Inn just died out in me after staying in this hotel.

Rooms are not too bad, but management is not efficient / professional..

Things like

-More than 2 minute power cuts .
-Room Service at 840 AM on a Sunday ? and they just push the door open even when do not disturb sign is switched on after their knock ?
-Fresh Towels brought in held in the hand?
-Lift Alarm on almost every 10 seconds (this should be switched off at night especially when the rooms are close to the lift)
-Asked for an upgrade to Executive first night (no room available) I asked them to schedule be for the next day where space was available and they re ask me again at 20:00hrs the next night ?

I think just a little more attention to this beautiful property to make it up to the HOLIDAY INN standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Opinion_20,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for a business hotel or a stopover in Dar es Salaam. It is a little faded but convenient for the airport and for downtown. It is not particularly cheap but is reliable and well managed.

The executive lounge is not very impressive so don't go for that. The public areas not terribly well air conditioned. The "rooftop bar" is slightly eccentric being, when we were there, an eclectic mixture of sheesha lounge, tiki bar, sports bar and with loud/deafening country and western music being played and soccer on the big screen...we did not linger.

Downstairs restaurant delivers a workmanlike breakfast and lunch that is adequate for survival but I wouldn't make a special trip!

I may stay here again, or then again I may go and stay at the Hyatt which looked a lot nicer.

Room Tip: I would advise higher rooms given that it's in the centre of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JonnyBBad,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a business trip. The hotel is in the middle of town so is very convenient for meetings in the city centre. The rooms were clean but neglected and taps / furnishings kept on falling off. The food was mediocre except for one day when the chef cooked Indian themed foods that were okay. I was not motivated to eat at their restaurant at all, especially for buffet meals. Their ala carte menu was restricted but the food was much better than the buffet option.

The rooms were cleaned very late - about 3pm - and the cleaners weren't attentive to replenish items that were not available, such as soap or sugar in the room. The room was clean, with free wifi and a 'working area' which was welcome. The air conditioning in the room worked very well and I didn't experience black outs and lack of electricity.

I wouldn't go back there because of the food and poor service from some staff.

Room Tip: If you want to have a peaceful night select a room on the side facing another building and not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St/ Upanga Rd Junction City Center Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly opened hotel offers contemporary designed luxurious bedrooms, state of the art conference facilities and a host of dining options. Accommodation comprising of a mixture of standard, executives and suites made up of a selection of doubles and twins. Dining ranges from our International Gaucho Restaurant, our Coffee Shop with sandwiches and pastries, Bar-at-ONE for tapas style food and our Al Dar rooftop bar-restaurant, sheesha lounge with its own mixed menu of Arabian & Mediteranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.