We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St/ Upanga Rd Junction City Center Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I’ve stayed several times in Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. The rooms/suites are spacious, clean and well equipped. All staff is professional and service fast and very friendly especially Mr. Suheil AL and Ms.Rehema for making my stay wonderful. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good accommodation in the centre of Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear deo Hugo,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your response, our entire team will be delighted with the recognition given for their friendliness and professionalism.

Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    112
    108
    31
    22
See reviews for
31
58
29
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dietikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel holiday inn in dar es salaam (tanzania) is a normal and also not that much new like other hotel. It has good restaurants to eat breakfast and as well dinner. The rooftop bar is nice especially in the evening. But I have also to write that there is unfortunately no beach according to the hotel. There is a very old pool outside of the hotel. The stuff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, the Al Dar rooftop is fast becoming known as one of the highlights of people's stay at the Holiday Inn and we delighted that you enjoyed the venue and the food. Our swimming pool is a plunge pool, and was installed in September 2011. The Holiday Inn is not situated on the beach front, however we always assist guests who wish to visit the beach. On your next visit please enquire at reception and we will arrange for you to visit the fantastic Jangwani Sea Breeze Resort with its brilliant white beaches.
Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed there in transit at the start of our trip, before a morning plane to the bush. Was acceptable as we were still energized by the positive feeling of starting a two week holiday. The room was old and tired. Barelly clean. The bathroom was smelly and the tub looked like second hand even worse like it had been repaired several times while it seriously needed to be changed. Breakfast buffet was ok. The roof top bar food was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we regret that you were not entirely satisfied during your visit. Our hotel Duty Managers are available 24/7 and had your problems been highlighted at the time of stay we would have been able to resolve the issues to your satisfaction immediately. Should your travels bring you back to Tanzania we would welcome the opportunity to host your next stay.
Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good and safe hotel in midst of the city. The bathrooms are a little problem due to ineffiecient drainage system. The location is good, closeby to lot of good indian restaurants. They increase number of chanels shown in the t.v. We were there for 5 nights, overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. The issue you noted with the bathroom drainage, has now been largely resolved as a result of an in-house refurbishment programme in our bathrooms which focused on the bathroom floors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We left this place with a fairly neutral view of it.

The service overall was perfunctory, with the food service being appallingly slow, although the food itself was fine. We had to get our room key re-activated noless than twice each day, and one day it was three times.

We were annoyed by the hotel's attempts to charge us previously undisclosed "service fees", and these were credited back after our protest. And internet charges were excessive, something I always find to be annoying and unnecessary.

The location is good, and the quality of the rooms was fine. We may stay here again, but I would not go out of my way to stay at this place.

Room Tip: Try to get something not too far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. Service charge is levied in accordance with Tanzanian Laws, and this is clearly highlighted at the time of booking. We regret that you were not advised of this charge in advance, and will review all of our booking channels to ensure that cleints are advised of this in advance of their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Had to stay one night in Dar as my flight timings from Zanzibar to South Africa did not align on the same day. Since I had an early morning flight, I just wanted a nice, clean reasonably priced hotel to spend the night. This hotel was an excellent choice and I would definitely stay there if I find my self in Dar again. I don't think I paid more than $150 for the night. It is fairly new I believe and everything was spotless. Bed was super comfy, nice flat screen TV and even the bathroom was stylish. This was way better than I needed for my extremely short stay! Hotel is well located and it was very easy to get a taxi to go for dinner in the diplomatic quarter of the city as well as for a very early AM flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at the tail end of our three week trip of East Africa just before we caught a flight back home. We only stayed one night in Dar just so we could get a glimpse / feel of the city and catch the next night's flight. The hotel was decent 3-4 star feel, the rooms were tastefully done up, modern and importantly clean, the TV if my memory serves me right was a bit small, bathroom was a bit small but well equipped. Breakfast was not all that exciting and food was generally cold. They also had a rooftop bar / sheesha place which was average and not a great variety on the menu. The hotel was centrally located and we walked around and got dinner and did a bit of shopping. No complaints as such. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. The concerns expressed regarding breakfast have been noted, and our newly appointed F&B manager is addressing this as a priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St/ Upanga Rd Junction City Center Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly opened hotel offers contemporary designed luxurious bedrooms, state of the art conference facilities and a host of dining options. Accommodation comprising of a mixture of standard, executives and suites made up of a selection of doubles and twins. Dining ranges from our International Gaucho Restaurant, our Coffee Shop with sandwiches and pastries, Bar-at-ONE for tapas style food and our Al Dar rooftop bar-restaurant, sheesha lounge with its own mixed menu of Arabian & Mediteranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.