We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALLERT: Robbery Resort!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunrise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Beach Resort
Mji Mwema, Kigamboni | P.O.Box 21210, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ALLERT: Robbery Resort!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

During my stay at the Sunrise Beach Resort in Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), 3 robberies out of the safe locks have been reported. I was one of the unlucky guys.
Most probably, the house keeping possess a master key and uses this for stealing the valuable goods out of the room’s safe locks. The Indian manager doesn't do anything to prevent robbery in his hotel. On the contrary, it looks like he accepts this. The Indian managers attitude can be described as: "A complaining guest is always wrong as long as he/she can't prove anything."
Be warned!

Room Tip: The rooms at next doors resort will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    7
    13
See reviews for
5
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dodoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had travelled from Dodoma with the idea of spending two days relaxing her on beautiful Kigamboni Beach. We stayed in Seaview Room No. 16 for two nights, after seeing it advertised on the company website. However were were very disappointed because:
1. Reception staff on both days were unfriendly.
2. Our room was not ready when we arrived in the late afternoon:
- there was only one bathroom towel, Another one was later provided, but both were a grey dirty colour.
- no bathroom soap
- no mosquito net. It was later installed by the Reception Manager, but it was too small for the king-size bed, and was torn in at least 2 places
- no bedspread
- sheets & pillowslip were unclean
- floors were not properly swept
- one light switch was not working
- the refrigerator was not working properly
- the shower drain was blocked
- the basin seem to have a leak on the floor on the right hand side.
3. I had to ask twice for bathroom soap to sent to my room, and even though it was eventually delivered by staff, it did take more than 2 hours.
4. On the second day of our stay, the peaceful ambience was shattered by the amplified music of a private birthday on the beachfront bar. This went on for almost four hours.
5. Many of the beach furniture was either unclean, or old & damaged.
6. The most disturbing aspect was the manner in which the Room Service Staff cleaned our room on the second day:
- They used a sponge, which had been sitting in a mop bucket & on the floor, to clean the tea cups & glasses of our room!
- They even used the toilet brush to clean the shower!
So what should have been an enjoyable experience, turned out to be a most unpleasant holiday.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows have nice angled views of the beach(esp. # 16, 17 & 18), but they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for our 2 last nights at this hotel and we liked it. For 4500 TSH we had a hut near the beach. It was very basic, but clean and nice. There was no noise at night, only musquitos because you're near the water. A lot of local Tanzanians come to this beach during the weekend. It's nice to meet local people. The dinner is great!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

spent 2 days in the beach of this hotel, so have no idea about the hotel. the beach is incredible long!! white sand, clean in general. my friends (who work in DarEsSalaam) go there for weekends. they prefer the beach of exactly this hotel istead of goin' the nearest to them. so it's safe, clean enough, good bar, perfect view!

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

we stayed here on two occasions for a total of five nights in july and enjoyed it very much. the food was very good, if slow to arrive. the staff is present and helpful and the beach is one of the best. - beautiful & clean. the view at night with the fishing boats lit up in the dark is great! rooms are clean, air conditioned and private. the only complaint we had was the lack of hot water pressure. we stayed in two different rooms and had little or no hot water. however, these are minor complaints for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday and had an 'Executive' room, which are the furthest from the beach. The hotel is right on the beach though and the beach is beautiful - white sand, blue waters and very long - perfect! Our room was fine, even had air con, and the food was good. I would recommend this hotel baseed on value for money - $75 per night was a lot cheaper than we paid elsewhere in Tanzania and Zanzibar. Our friends stayed in the Sea View rooms which are better positioned (literally on the beach) and slightly cheaper but lack air con which when we were there we were very grateful for! The service from the staff here is typical Tanzanian 'pole pole' and they have a lot to learn to meet Western standards but if you are on a budget this place is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Sunrise Beach, what should I tell about it, wonderfull food, staffs were very polite & Sharp. I've visited with my wife & 2 kids. Resort has water-sports. Jet-ski rides was mind blowing. value of money too.place to be.

c yaa

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni | P.O.Box 21210, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.