We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning but not for the REAL budget backpacker!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikadi Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mikadi Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Mikadi Beach Lodge
P O Box 36369, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning but not for the REAL budget backpacker!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Mikadi is a stunning, delightful place! A bit alarming when you see all the WARNING SIGNS!!! U cant walk on the beach with out a guard or walk into town because its to dangerous (not that i encountered anything). But it really does'nt give you the "carefree" holiday feeling (especially 'this is no joke)!!!
I camped at Mikadi it was really stunning, beautiful beach and the place itself is amazing, really beautiful, you feel like you're on an island.
Only thing i guess is if you love "HOT" showers - u will have to get in really early...
Also, price wise definitely NOT for the backpacker! I think it was rather expensive but you dont have many options in Dar when you'd like to camp. But if you've you got dollars or pounds - you definitely wont have a problem!
The owners - Jo and Lucho are amazing, very interesting people!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
30
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on our way to Zanzibar and then on our way to Selous Reserve. Lucho is very friendly and knowledgeable, answered all inquiries immediately, had everything perfectly organized for our arrival/departure at odd hours. We stored some of our equipment for a week in the place while traveling around.
We stayed one night in one of the bandas on the beach (top!) and one night we camped. Very nice and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was one week at Mikadi Beach it was really a great stay. Everybody is nice, friendly and will help you where possible. Also all the travellers i meet there were nice and kindly, Talking while you have an overview over the Indian Ocean is really great. Everybody who works there are the most friendly and nice people i met for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Mikadi for 3 nights on our way to Kilimanjaro and what an experience. Firstly our email enquiry was answered very quickly by a friendly Jo who gave us some helpful advice for our trip. We arrived at dodgy o clock in the morning and were ushered into a lovely little banda right ON the beach. Literally the tide came to the steps. Room was basic with double bed, mosi net and plug socket and we loved the simplicity. For the price we couldn't believe the lovely hot showers and clean ablution blocks - very well maintained. Nothing like showering under the trees with wildlife watching. We enjoyed the food very much especially the seafood - yum, yum. Thank you Mario! Bar area is a great place to chill and watch the world go by and the owners Jo and Lu have just upgraded the bar with a pool wing. As far as getting into Dar - we would recommend getting a tuktuk and you'll be in the centre of Dar in 20 mins (with an interesting ferry ride across the harbor). We saw singles, families and couples all enjoying themselves so I'd say everyone will feel welcome. The music from the bar was loud but if this bothers you, ask for a banda further away as we did and you won't hear anything.
In a nutshell we were impressed with Mikadi and cannot recommend it highly enough. Sure it's not 5 star but if you're looking for an authentic Indian Ocean experience, look no further. It was a great way to begin our Tanzanian trip. Safari Njema.

Room Tip: Beachfront furthest from the pool area - banda 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beira, Mozambique
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

we went on a family holiday with 2 toddlers and a pregnant mom, the staff were very accommodating to our family making special dishes for the kids & always watchful. It is a true gem on a budget, great value for money, there was a bit of crazy loud music on weekends from next door but it gave us a real look at Tanzania, otherwise an all round relaxed atmosphere, very nice. the staff helped with ordering bajaj so transport to town was easy and the ferry trip is a must do to understand everyday Dar-es-Salaam. It is a surprisingly calm & clean beach setting after all the craziness of the big city.

Room Tip: ask for beach front bandas, best view and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Mikadi is an ideal destination if you are looking for a relaxed, easy going retreat or just a single nights accommodation on the way to Zanzibar.

Beautiful view, great people, excellent food and amazing possibilities.

Thanks for an amazing week!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is one of the coolest backpackers I’ve ever stayed in! It’s such a nice place with a really chilled vibe. It’s right on the beach and you can choose to stay on your own room (which is basically a ‘banda’ or traditional Tanzanian huts) or you can do camping. It has shared bathroom but they are really clean and spacious! The owners are really nice and helpful.

And also the price is really good and it’s really close to the ferry. We really recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikadi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikadi Beach Lodge

Address: P O Box 36369, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mikadi Beach Lodge derives its name from the Mikadi Tree which thrives along the beautiful Tanzanian coastline. Jo (Zimbabwean) & Lucho (Chilean) married and Owner/Managers took over the Lodge in February 2008 and since then have embarked on a complete refurbishment of the place. If you have your heart and soul in a place this emanates to staff and clients alike. We are in love with Mikadi and that shows in everything we do to make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable. They say location is everything and we are in the perfect location! We are only 15/20mins from the Zanzibar Ferry so ideally placed for those travellers wanting to visit Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mikadi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikadi Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikadi Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.