We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Night Out - Something Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
35 Ursino St, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
0713 266299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delightful Night Out - Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Used to live in Ethiopia and haven't eaten Ethiopian for a while. Loved it. Food was authentic, flavoursome and delicious. My friend cleaned up and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was great. Obviously some people will be out of their comfort zone eating with hands and tasting the assortment of dishes. Give it a go for something different. A good night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    91
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cutlery?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing tasty food and fun to eat. No cutlery required. Really great. Goat and all the tasty staff you never tried. I spot not to miss in Dar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good authentic Ethiopian food and wonderful evening atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went with a large group to dinner while in Dar. We were seated right away on this lovely rooftop restaurant. As usual, you want to take a taxi there and preferably have your taxi come back to pick you up but there are taxi drivers outside the restaurant. Food was tasty. Service was only OK. Not much cheerfulness but mostly efficient other than one of the dishes being delivered to the wrong table (we had 2 tables) and dumped uncermoniously onto the pancake of the other table without confirmation of proper delivery. Otherwise, we enjoyed the food, atmosphere and setting. I recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, didn't feel well after”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Delicious food and good service, but me and a few other people weren't feeling great after. No one was physically ill, but just feeling a little off!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“the food and ambiance were amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I love Ethiopian food, so Addis in Dar didn't have to work too hard to win me over. And the food was delicious!! The set up was gorgeous as well and the coffee at the end was great.

I also have to compliment the guys working at the gate as they made sure I was safely in a fairly priced bajaji before letting us leave. Please don't walk down that road in the dark.

What can be improved? 1) Offer a mixed plate for guests with smaller appetites. I was there with my young daughter and we wanted to try a few things, but had to order a plate for two or else only get 1 dish. Not cool. 2) Once we were done eating I had to wait FOREVER to get someone to actually come over and take my order for coffee. Once I finally got my coffee my daughter suggested we just leave without paying as we waited another 30 minutes to get the bill. Frustrating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis in Dar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.