We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
35 Ursino St, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
0713 266299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 192 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Addis in Dar is one of the best restaurants I've ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Here's the low down: You're gonna be eating with your hands. No forks, no knives, clean em, wash em and get ready to roll that Njira.

Very unique (and fantastic) environment under tropical lush trees and the open African sky and then comes the good part: the food. Granted, you need to know what to order (Tibs, the lamb and the chicken) and you'll be amazed at the deliciousness of it all.

Stop reading and get over there now!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    98
    21
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Best Ethiopian food outside of Ethiopia! I really like Ethiopian food and I am always happy when someone suggests that we go to Addis in Dar!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Lovely Ethiopian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great great atmosphere in this very original restaurant, food is really really nice, typically Ethiopian and loved the concept of sharing altogether!! Experience really worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is a Dar failsafe. It is always strong and delivers good food time after time. Be ready to share as all food is communal. Ethiopian food is really a treat for people who have never tried it I suggest you start here. Avoid the prawns BTW everything else is awesome. Some people think it is pricey but I think it is good value on authentic food and atmosphere too!

Enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, even better atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've had some amazing Ethiopian food in New York City and Addis topped the list of our experiences so far. In just a few short trips to Dar we've managed to eat here 2 times and the food has been superb. The setting - an outside balcony, lit by shaded lights and natural candles - is perfectly done. I hesitate to write this review because it sounds too good to be true, and surely some folks' experiences with so-so service ring true with different waiters, but I'm duly impressed. Besides, they take visa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis in Dar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.