We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thai food in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Restaurant

Oriental Restaurant
Kivukoni Street | Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255 22 213 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 175 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best thai food in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

They have hired Thai chef for this restaurant and undoubtedly food was top notch.Only reason I did not give it 5 star was because of service.Food got delayed but food was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“FAB FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a real must for business lunches.
Excellent fresh sushi, brilliant service, amble secure hotel parking.
Have a drink on the roof top bar then down to the oriental for amazing food.
A bit pricey, but a must.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hot and sour soup to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I must have tasted over 50 versions of hot and sour soup over the years, its a kind of quest!
I actually make a special trip to the (expensive) Oriental every time I am in Dar just for the fish hot and sour soup. It is the best I have tasted out side Asia.
The menu is not overly extensive so it means they are very good at what they do. The restaurant serves a mixture of Thai, Japanese and Chinese food.
Dumplings are good as is the tempura and vegetable dishes are fresh and tasty.
I have not eaten sushi here, but plenty of people order it.

The sushi bar is immaculately clean and service is attentive.
It can get busy on the weekends, so book in advance if you want to eat at peak times.
Top off your meal at the rooftop bat at the Hyatt and watch the ships go by!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must in Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went there quite often with friends or clients.

The food is perfect, their salmon is exquisite. The service is fast and the waiters are taking care of you, might you be a group of 10 or just a couple.

The wines are fine if you are ready to pay the price but are worth it.

Would totally recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food was superb, everything we ate was absolutely delicious. The service was great, our kids were looked after so well, everyone was so kind.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.