We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety and reasonable quality food - little more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Restaurant

Oriental Restaurant
Kivukoni Street | Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255 22 213 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 188 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good variety and reasonable quality food - little more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the great things about the restaurant is the variety on the menu. The food was good, not great. THe service was ok, not particularly fast or good. The prices were high, not too high. It's clean and quiet. I'd give it good reviews overall but not great reviews. How many places in Dar can you get Tom Yam soup along with Sushi and Chinese food? So, it's hard to complain but on the other hand this is not showing up with a Michelin star anytime soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved this restaurant. Crab and asparagus soup was OK. Stir-fried seafood was excellent. Chocolate truffle cake with raspberry sauce (which I ordered from the other hotel restaurant, and which was delivered to my table at the Oriental without question) was spectacular. Relaxed, elegant atmosphere, excellent service. Surely one of the best restaurants in Dar - certainly the best I've tried myself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Food and atmosphere is about the only things decent but then the service is the worst it took them more than an hr to get our drinks sorted for a table of 8.
Food, don't even ask we nearly missed our flight to Nairobi. Am in the car and fretting. Absolutely disgusting it took them 25min to get us our bill. No apologies. Hyatt or Kempinski some things never change.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but worth the cost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Is definitely a bit more pricey than other restaurants in Dar but not outrageous and in my opinion it is worth it for a special occasion.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I sometimes dream about the sushi....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Well, its like this. Better sushi and dim sums you can try to find anywhere in a range of a few thousands of kilomenter (let me know, right?).... to be honest... I did not find any place in europe either with this class. The fish is so fresh, you can still feel it. Excellent!!

Its somehow pointless to start saying whats good.... this and that. Its all good. I cant find anything that would be on the minus side here.

Besides Sushi and Dims, there are a rather good selection of different oriental dishes as well, but its years now since I tried them out. Only sushi.....

Yes, ok.... one thing is not very good. wines. A bit of standard selection of bulk producing wineries from south africa. Here it could be possible to improve a bit. There are plenty of smaller wineries with excellent wines down in SA, so this would be my suggestion to the FB Manager.

Please try to visit Oriental if you happen to be in Dar. Its worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.