We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high quality and high prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Restaurant

Oriental Restaurant
Kivukoni Street | Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255 22 213 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“high quality and high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

haven't been since the kempenski changed into whatever it is now but used to be a very fine pan-asian restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I wouldn't normally scream how good hotel restaurants are because they aren't! But this really was a little piece of Japan dropped into Tanzania! Great soup, fantastic Dim Sum and PERFECT sushi. Happy days!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always pleased for Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I eat in at Oriental for Sushi and have started ordering take away. I have to say, I am always pleased to have a most patient person on the phone taking my order, once going through the ENTIRE menu with me. answering all my questions and full filling my order to the exact specifications: extra ginger and Oriental maki set. Thank you for being the only restaurant in dar that actually provides what I order without missing a thing!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I loved everything!! The Stir fried seafood with Chilli and Basil was phenomenal!! And Tom Yum Goong was to die for!! The duck curry was a little dull for my taste, but still of excellent quality!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Japanese and Thai food. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I certainly recommend this restaurant for its excellent service, large choice of Thai, Japanese and Chinese food. Peaceful and chic atmosphere. Prices are on the high side.
I recommend : red curry duck, shrimp dim sum, thai seafood salad, makis and sushis
Less appreciated : seafood red miso soup, chicken sate, beef buns

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.