We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmless” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel to your Saves list
Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kariakoo - Livingstone/ Amani Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Royal Mirage Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Charmless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here for one night in june 2008. Affordable, unmemorable hotel. We only stayed for a one night stop over in june 2008. It suited our purpose, but without knowing what other hotels in Dar are like we would certainly not return or recommend it (for more than a cheap stop-over).

Room is charmless but clean.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Manager at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback which has ben noted.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
29
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed here for one night with my partner. Location is good, easy to get a taxi. Clean rooms. Restaurant was disappointing, extremely slow service, food was average. Front desk were not very helpful, partly because staff didn't speak English very well and didn't seem to understand our questions. Overall experience ok, but totally forgettable.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Manager at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Well noted.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This place was like a peaceful haven compared to the other hotels id seen on my trip to Tanzania. It was safe, clean, a really nice hotel and affordable too!! We hired out suites for the family, this included a great breakfast as well and hey it was such a nice place to stay! The staff were brilliant One in particular (lucinda i think was her name) from front of house to waiters.They were so helpful and really made our stay!!! Its in the city centre, taxi are easily available and its very safe!!
Thank you Royal Mirage!!!

  • Liked — rooms were big, clean and hotel staff were very hospitatble
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Manager at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel

Address: Kariakoo - Livingstone/ Amani Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Royal Mirage Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and Safety.Dar-es-Salaam Frequent Business Travelers' Choice.Consistent, Comfortable and Cost effective.Facilities: All en-suite rooms. Wi-Fi access in all rooms.AC, fan, telephone,fridge in suites, safety deposit box with reception, hot and cold water in showers.Cable TV in the rooms.DSTV in the restaurant. Lift,free car park, restaurant,lounge. Salon internet cafe and Bureau de Change at the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.