We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very budget hotel suiting one night stay only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel to your Saves list
Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kariakoo - Livingstone/ Amani Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Royal Mirage Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very budget hotel suiting one night stay only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked 3 nights Feb.08-10 single room from booking.com, after check-in i feel i am misled by booking.com, which describes this 3 star hotel free wired internet in public area, actually hardly available because only two cables, one in the lounge and the other in the restaurant. You have to take patience to wait for your turn. Buffet breakfast is so economical that it can hardly be called buffet: only toast,milk,coffee,plus a little slices watermelon, and that's all. The restaurant is with limited tables, around 8-9am peak time hardly to get a free table.
Mosquito net does not exist and unknown worm bites may occur. Mini-market is not within hotel. Even one bottle of water unavailable to buy within hotel. Hotwater is only warm water. I have to rush up bathing to get warmth. The floor of room is not clean, with dusts in corners.What's the worst is that there is no dustbin in your room!
Atttention: when you check in they immediately charge your credit card full value. After 2 nights i decide to check out to find another hotel, but the reception told me they will not refund my third night fare already charged when checking in.
IF you are on business avoid this hotel. Suggest for transfer passengers for one night stay and for budget only.

Room Tip: the 4thday I checked into Sophia house and apartment hotel two blocks away with 10 minutes walk, muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
25
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

One of the best place.....to stay, very good staff, hotel manager is well mannered person, I really like this hotel....I hope come again...service staff very nice, they have good knowledge about his job.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
We continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topolcany, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We choose this hotel for oversleep in Dar. We let all staffs in our room all closed and went for one hour have some dinner. After we came back found out that our camera charger and cover for lens dissapeared from bag which was on the bed. Hotel is not safety, windows are not possible to close and after you think its closed you can open them easy from balcony. And strange was when we came back safety card from room was wrong and didnt work.
Nobody wanna talk with us. Staff manager speaks english average and it was really difficult to explain her anything. Only one person who was abble to speak with us was manager of hotel. He promissed us to show us camera on the floor but until this time he didnt. He had always few reasons why not now and he will do it later. He also promissed to call us and inform about all but we were thoose who called always first coz nobody cared!
Personal is arrogant. Food is average and water is only cold.
This hotel nevermore, deffinitely not safety at all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operaations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Madam,
respectfully, you arrived already with a very bad attitude. Not only did you try to lie to us about where you are coming from (as we always keep a record of our guest passports for security reason) and you tried to make us believe you are Italian but as a European I immediately recognised your Russian based accent. Further to this, I became suspicious about you and your rather strange guest you brought with
In fact as I personally spoke to you, I came already to the understanding that you are potentially going to be a problem, and indeed you were. I sincerely doubt that your items were missing, I rather believe that you made up this story as we did not want to give you a discount.
Yours truly
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is clean but the service is terrible! I stayed two nights at the hotel and it was such a nasty experience. The staff seems to hate their jobs, not friendly i must say. My first day at the hotel after having my breakfast, I was informed I must pay for omelet which ought to be part of the breakfast menu and no one informed me before having my breakfast. Despite the fact that the Manager on duty who is an Indian lady confirmed to me that it's no fault of mine, she still insisted that I must pay for the Omelet. The second morning, I planned leaving the hotel around 6am and when I asked if I could take my breakfast with me, the Manager informed me I have to miss breakfast and she can't do nothing about it.

This is a terrible hotel. The Manager i met on duty during my stay is not a good host!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied.
Since our takeover of the Management of the Hotel , we have made great strides in improving the quality and service of the hotel in order to be able to offer excellent quality for money knowing that FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel is a BUDGET HOTEL. Cleanliness and Security, amongst others, are naturally high priority. Please be assured that further improvements are on going.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the most affordable hotels in Dar es Salaam which offers the best value for money.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed there for less than a night because we had our flight really early in the morning, so we ariived in the afternoon, left our bags there and went for a walk to the city center. After coming back we slept for a couple of hours and then left to the airport. Well done, because I wouldn't stay there for any longer.
The walls and the bedside were scuffed, the door handles in the bathrooms are rusted, the hole in the floor in the shower seemed to be plugged up with something as the water wouldn't go away and there were still puddles there even when we woke up.
And they don't have a mosquito net though we saw some in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Sine our takeover of the Management of the Hotel , we have made great strides in improving the quality and service of the hotel in order to be able to offer excellent quality for money knowing that FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel is a BUDGET HOTEL. Cleanliness and Security, amongst others, are naturally high priority. Please be assured that further improvements are on going.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the most affordable hotels in Dar es Salaam which offers the best value for money.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Zanzibar.

Good:
Excellent value for money ($35 for a night including basic breakfast)
Good English speaking reception
Were able to buy dinner for us from outside (though the prices were unclear, it was pretty cheap)
Close to ferry point (<$5, 10-15 minutes)

Bad:
Very basic facilities (no wifi in the hotel or safe in room)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Sine our takeover of the Management of the Hotel , we have made great strides in improving the quality and service of the hotel in order to be able to offer excellent quality for money knowing that FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel is a BUDGET HOTEL.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the most affordable hotels in Dar es Salaam which offers great value of money.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

F10 Livingstone Hotel is excellent hotel. situated in business hub area of Dar es Salaam Kariyakoo. Transportation is very easy from this place. Security is 24/7 safe to stay in Kariyakoo.
Staff are friendly,very talented and helpful. New management has changed the look of cleanliness for this hotel. Rooms, corridor and lobby is clean always.
High Speed Complimentary internet is available in lobby which gives extra points to the hotel.
Room amenities like fan, TV, A/c and beds are really good. Electricity back-up 24/7.
Breakfast is available as per budget hotel worth in same money.

I will recommend all my friends for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your feedback. As the new Management Company we strive to truly improve the Hotel on all aspects and in line of being a QUALITY BUDGET HOTEL. Since take over we have made great strides in improving the hotel. Cleanliness and Security, amongst others, are two of our top priorities which we have sincerely addressed and improved. Further improvements to FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel as a QUALITY BUDGET HOTEL are continuously on going so that we can offer AFFORDABLE QUALITY ACCOMMODATION in Dar es Salaam. We are proud to inform our valuable Guest that since we took over the Management of the hotel , we have continuously received repeat bookings from International Organizations for their guests and associates.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel

Address: Kariakoo - Livingstone/ Amani Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Royal Mirage Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and Safety.Dar-es-Salaam Frequent Business Travelers' Choice.Consistent, Comfortable and Cost effective.Facilities: All en-suite rooms. Wi-Fi access in all rooms.AC, fan, telephone,fridge in suites, safety deposit box with reception, hot and cold water in showers.Cable TV in the rooms.DSTV in the restaurant. Lift,free car park, restaurant,lounge. Salon internet cafe and Bureau de Change at the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formula 10 Livingstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.