We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Dar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slipway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Slipway
Save
You added Hotel Slipway to your Saves list
Slipway Road | Msasani Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 62 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Dar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels for about two months in Dar es Salaam and I can say that Slipway is one of the better ones, clean rooms nice few of the Ocean and a very good manager (Alina) I went to Zanzibar over the weekend and she booked my ferry ticket she always make you feel like you are her only guest always smiling I will always book in Slipway very very good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
41
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

After a 12 hour bus ride and an hour in a taxi, it was an absolute delight to walk into our room at the Slipway. Small but crisp and clean, with a tasty food options and a bookshop a stone's throw away. Despite its location in the middle of a popular shopping and eating area, the room was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast each morning was tasty, with healthy breakfast options and prompt service. The only problem we had was the air conditioner kept switching off on the second day of our stay. The staff was most attentive, though, and the problem was fixed in a timely manner. This was a business trip for me, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Over the last year, I stayed at the Slipway several times, each time for about 2-3 weeks. Lovely rooms in the renovated part and the Souk, spacious rooms on the other side of the building. All rooms are bright and clean, with DSTV, aircon and in-room safe. Internet access is provided in the lobby. The breakfast offers a wide variety of food and the staff is friendly and helpful.
If you look for good value for money and a relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to be!
Only area for improvement: you have to pay upfront, before having used any of the services. This arrangement regularly confuses staff at the reception. I'd appreciate to have the option to pay at the end of the stay (or let's say weekly). However, that'a minor area for improvement.
I definitely recommend this place and will stay here again when visiting Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hotel Slipway is located in The Slipway complex in Msasani area where many expats/NGO people hang out. The complex has a great Waterfront bar and also has Japanese and Italian restaurants, coffee shop and many variety shops including Coastal Travel Agent.

The hotel is small, very clean with bright with rooms that overlook the ocean one way and car park the other way. It also has DSTV. We stayed here for a 3 days on one occasion and 4 days at another. We did enjoy our stay and the staff at reception, especially Rachel are great!

Few areas of improvement (minor but necessary);
1) Hotel has wireless internet but it needs a guest computer as not all travellers travel with computers and the Slipway complex doesn't have an internet cafe. Even cheaper hotels have a guest computer.
2) We had to leave at 6am one morning to catch a flight and it was apparently too hard to get breakfast organised early when we asked or even get a banana and yoghurt.
3)We booked for one night and stayed for 3 and were asked to change rooms several times due to a booking stuff up at reception.
4) Although the hotel is located amongst a eating complex, for the price it could improve by opening their bar/breakfast area for lunch, dinner or drinks/coffee for guests as some people just like relaxing at the hotel.
5) If you book and stay for 4 days, you should have the option to pay at the end instead of being harassed everyday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was a multiple return trip to Slipway for me but the first in several years and since it's been under new management. I find the location very convenient and the rooms are basic, adequate and good value for money. Hot showers, a/c, in-room safe, kettle and fixings for tea and coffee and the convenience of ATM, shops, supermarket and restaurants all in one place. It's a bonus to be out of the hustle and bustle of city centre Dar. The downside is the traffic to get off the peninsula for meetings early in the morning. The breakfast room was new for me, having been added with the new management and the food and service were fine. We had ongoing issues with the electricity in the room and the staff were very quick to respond and sort out the problem although it was never really resolved; the situation was made manageable. We had to go to the lobby for internet as we were on the Souk side of the hotel, but that was fine. I always recommend this place and will definitely stay here again when I have to visit Dar es Salaam.

Room Tip: Unless you need a twin room (these are all on the "Souk" side, opt for a room on floor 2 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Not expensive (for Dar), pleasant decor, very good internet, good breakfast.
The hype says that Slipway is a shopping and eating Mecca. It's not. There's really only one reasonable restaurant but it serves wonderful seafood and you can sit almost on the ocean. Not a hardship! Shops are expensive but it's good to see what's available.
Internet in the rooms is very good (skype quality).
Service is very friendly.

Room Tip: Just check first. One side of the hotel seems to have bigger rooms than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed for about two weeks with my wife and daughters.
The service is not 5-star but it is good for what you're paying. The staff are friendly and helpful without being obsequious.
The building is very tastefully designed and furnished but there are no frills. The rooms are basic but comfortable and all the bits which usually go wrong in lower price African hotels are designed out.
We had on small room and one larger one, which had some basic cooking facilities.
You can only eat breakfast there, which is again basic but you have the Watrefront a few metres away for drinks at sunset and very good meals in a great atmosphere.
There are shops below the hotel in the Souk and you can get coffee, beer, ice cream, etc. nearby.
Definitely recommended and I will go there agian whenever I visit Dar in future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Msasani Bay. The other side's not very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slipway

Address: Slipway Road | Msasani Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slipway is ideally located just 7km from the Dar es Salaam city centre on the posh Msasani peninsula, right on the Indian Ocean overlooking Msasani Bay. It offers best value for money accommodation in this upmarket neighbourhood. The hotel is integrated into the Slipway complex, which provides a wide range of amenities including various dining options and everything a traveler needs. Within its vicinity are a selection of popular shopping, dining and nightlife destinations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slipway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.