We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Pearl Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The hotel is clean, tidy and well maintained. The staff are very polite and are very keen to please, many speak English.

The food is of a good quality and well presented, there is a good choice on the menu.

This is a hotel that caters for functions such as weddings and exhibitions, it is not for families on long stay vacations, however, if you are on business or need a stop over for a few days, it is a good place to hang your hat.

I stayed for two weeks on business and have no complaints.

Be sure to check out the roof top pool and the gym, not big, but big enough to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Dont book a room higher than the 12th floor, the aircon extractor fans that are on the roof above fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    18
    16
    4
See reviews for
3
5
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

"Blue Pearl" sounds like a bar you wouldn't bring your girlfriend to, but it's a hotel just outside Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania.

The Blue Pearl hotel is a fairly nondescript hotel a few km outside Dar Es Salaam. It's located by a busy highway. Location wise, rather isolated from restaurants or anything else.

The hotel is rather dark but is comfortable enough. Rooms are large, sensibly tiled in terracotta coloured tiles, with airconditioning and cable TV. My room had a microwave, fridge and sink but no kettle. Rather gloomy and cheerless though.

Facility wise, there is a gym with malfunctioning or nonfunctioning treadmills and cycle machines, and a few exercise stations. There is a nice but small infinity pool at the rooftop - large enough to soak in but not big enough to actually swim.

There is a rather grubby restaurant that I wouldn't recommend unless you really have no choice - and given its location, if you don't want to take a taxi and sit in traffic, you don't have a choice.

The hotel has plenty of space but doesn't use it well. There are empty corridors, large open halls and unused space, all rather sprawling and a little gloomy. Overall, better to stay someplace else more central and vibrant unless you want to purposely isolate yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Pearl for 2 nights which were more than enough.

When we arrived things like towels etc. was missing in the room. We had no hot water and when we called to complain we waited 2.5 hours and only got a response because we called down to the reception to complain for the 4th time.

We had also ordered a airport shuttle which they forgot and send us with a taxi and didn't compensate us for.

We checked out in the evening, and the check-out only took 20 minuttes and we couldn't pay with visa because they didn't know how to operate it.

All in all a very bad experience and we will never recommend or be going back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Blue Pearl seems to be orientated towards governmental organizations and NGOs who are having large meetings and conferences there - the lobby area was dominated by large groups of "important" people and their entourages when we were there. As a leisure traveler, we felt like an inconvenience rather than a guest. They could find no record of our room reservation when we arrived, despite having an email confirming our booking, which was a little alarming; they were however able to allocate us a room.

The room itself was perfectly pleasant: clean and spacious, although the air conditioning was a little erratic and the hot water intermittent; the swimming pool was clean and had wonderful views but was very small and cold. We ate outside at the 'barbeque bistro' - the menu would benefit from retranslation into English as it was incomprehensible even to the waiter who served us. "Chicken bith" or "chicken sajji" seemed to be the main two options, and most of the other choices were unavailable.

The internet wasn't working when we were there; they sent a technician to attempt to diagnose it but he wanted to use my laptop to fix their servers since he didn't have a machine of his own. Attempting to get a refund for the $10 I had paid took three separate visits to the reception, although I was eventually successful.

The hotel is right by the biggest road junction in Dar es Salaam, which is almost permanently clogged with traffic; I'd echo the comment of a previous reviewer that you should be cautious about travel time estimates if you have a fixed schedule or airport check-in.

Our bar isn't set too high for hotels in Africa for obvious reasons, but we've had much better experiences than this in Kunduchi and Morogoro.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had some inside advice to stay at the Blue Pearl while attending a conference at the Milimani conference center which is well outside of the downtown corridor. Due to traffic, being close saved literally hours of transport time and cost each day. We were 10-15 minutes even in rush hour. It was wonderful to avoid that stress and cost.

Our room was large (2 bedrooms/2 baths) which gave us both privacy and the ability to work together. Despite being on a busy room, it was quiet (the rooms all face away from the main road.) Rooms were clean and service was great each day. Bottled water is available in your room.

The vegetarian Indian food in the restaurant is quite good, but plan on a wait as everything is made up when ordered if you don't take the buffet. (I'm not a buffet person). Enjoy the Tanzania beer and conversation and your meal will be worth the wait! Breakfast buffet is plentiful and varies each day. (included with our room)

The lobby wifi (paid) was mostly strong, but not quite usable in the rooms. (Go to the Milimani mall and buy a Tigo USB stick and airtime if you are there more than a couple of days- fabulous!) Taxis were always available out front.

The hotel faces challenges common in Africa - 1 elevator out and parts on order from Europe, no aircon when power outages force them to go on generator, and such, but the staff handles it graciously. Just be aware and be creative and all is well. Things work out.

DO know that they will not accept US currency older than 2003, so if you are from the US, pay attention. (This avoids the 5% credit card surcharge if you wish).

Finally, thanks to the gracious staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

While this hotel is out of the city center it is quite easy to get around, although traffic can be quite heavy at times, take a taxi very affordable and very friendly drivers, just look inwards when travelling though, can be a bit scary compared to Irish roads. cover up well and use Insect repellent, mosquito,s bite any bare skin, especially after dusk..One tip, make sure you have everything you need when leaving your room as it is quite a trek back if you forget something

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is not a European or North Amercia standards hotel. That said, the rooms are spacious (has a kitchenette) and the bathrooms well appointed. Also the roof top swimming pool comes with a fantastic view of the entire city of Dar. As a result of the management being Pakistani and muslim, the Indian food is good and there is a marked absence of pork. Onthe flip side there is a plentiful bar complete with OK prices. If you want to eat food other than Indian beware - the chef has not perfected (by any stretch of the imagination) any other kind of food. You are best to stick to chicken or vegetarian dishes. The fish is overcooked, unfortunately, and always deep fried (a shame). Don't even get me going on the beef - avoid at all costs (of course that goes for the continent of Africa in general, not just this hotel).
Bring ear plugs, as there are several churches behind the hotel, and they like to sing at the top of their lungs with the additonal aid of loud speakers, cranked to the max! That said, it can be quite nice, once in a while.
The hotel it attached to a mall so there is an opportunity to exchange money at one of the three banks in the mall(I had not problems at all). Also there is a vodacom shop to obtain a sim card and usage cell phone credits (another bonus). As a white woman travelling solo, I did not feel safe venturing outside the hotel. That said, I had a driver provided to me during my stay, and I felt safe with him. Some of the white men staying at the hotel did not feel threatened walking outside during the daylight. There is a (European style) groceriy store (ShopRite) and mall just 10 minutes away where you can get just about anything you need. While you cannot cook full meals in the hotel room (no burner) you can stock up on water, juices, fruits and veggies. I often made salads to take for lunch as everything is deep fried in the cafeterias. No problems walking through this mall on my own.
Although the internet was not free 14,000 TSh a week (about $9.00 u.s.) it was fairly reliable in the lobby and to a lesser extent in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.