We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting made me watch Zuku again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rorke's Drift

Rorke's Drift
Dundee, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 1,087 attractions in South Africa
Type: Historic Sites, Battlefields
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scene of a bloody battle in 1879 between 150 soldiers defending a supply station and more than 4,000 warriors during the Anglo-Zulu War.
north east
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very interesting made me watch Zuku again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The wo battle fields were very interesting and like some much in history you wonder why so many lives were lost over little bits of land and how the Zulu'swere under estimated.so many brave lives snuffed out miles from home. Must have been frightening .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Incredible things happened that fateful night (22nd Jan 1879)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had always wanted to see this. I cannot explain why & won't try.

We were so pleased that we booked a Guide for the day (just with us). Really strongly commend it. He brought so much more colour, insights & a different perspective - certainly to the one I had expected. Seen the film 'Zulu' too many times for my own good, I suppose and had been lulled into believing soem of Holywood's (or was it Pinewood) fairy stories

Guess I expected that WE would be the Good Guys and they would be the Bad Guys. Nothing quite so straightforward.

Brilliantly enlightening experience. Very thought provoking. Thoroughly enjoyed it, but this is not a pleasure thing - far, far, far too many hideous things happened for that. Was good to hear the story without an Agenda though.

We combined Isandlwana and the Blood River crossing together with this Visit, so in light of that spanning 3/4 days (in reality, way back then), it made the whole episode come together and alive, as we got a bit of before, during and afterwards. This made it into a whole day Activity, but to us that was very much all to the good.

If you cannot afford the time and want to just Whiz-whiz - don't bother with a Guide, but buy a Guide Book

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rorke's Drift Museum and Battlefield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have visited Rorke's Drift Museum many, many times, as battlefield guide, with clients, and we have always had cause to eat at Lihle's place at the museum. She is a very good cook, and works with Thulani Khuzwayo as proprietors of this establishment. She had fed us for nigh on seven years now, and has always been friendly, kind and helpful, and I will always recommend her food to other guides, especially her steak sandwich. It is not the Waldorf Astoria by ANY stretch of the imagination, but if you are looking for that kind of place, you are in the wrong province, and on the wrong tour. My clients have had nothing but thanks for her.

The Battle of Rorke's Drift, among all that was courageous and glorious in the firce conflict tht wsa the Zulu war of 1879, is still the outstanding example of courage and discipline ever recorde to the credit of British soldiers in the face of the enemy. Well worth a visit in any sense.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rorkes Drift Battlefield Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent a day in the Battlefields area and stopped at Rorkes Drift. A beautiful area and everything, buildings and lawn so well taken care of. The exhibits really help to tell the story of what happened there, could have easily spent the entire day taking int he place. Wasn't so thrilled with the canteen so recommend packing a lunch if you not having lunch at one of the hotels nearby.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect–with the right guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Rorke's Drift is a small pristine war memorial and museum surrounded by lawns and we had it virtually to ourselves at the end of October. In the museum you walk from room to room of the hospital building defended against 4000 Zulus. The exhibits and figures are a bit shop dummy but walking through with a guide bringing it to life and telling you what happened to each of the men at the time and then back in the UK vastly improves on the movie. We'd spent the morning at Islwanda which was the great Zulu victory against the British of the very same day. So we understood the whole picture, what led to the conflict and how it played out. Many people were in tears as the shadows lengthened on Rorke's Drift. A truly amazing day. Our two guides were from Fugitive's Drift Lodge. Zulu Joseph in the morning and British descendant and historian Andrew in the afternoon.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rorke's Drift also viewed

Kruger National Park, South Africa
Mpumalanga, South Africa
 

Been to Rorke's Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rorke's Drift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rorke's Drift to your Saves list