We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so and so ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel InterContinental

Save Saved
You added Hotel InterContinental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel InterContinental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue de Cordoue, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 hotels in Tangier
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“so and so ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Location - quiet zone
Stuff - not
friendly
Cleaning - so and so
Conditions - internet in the rooms - no way, only a computer in the main lobby, lucky us for being free that night.Otherwise, no wireless, no internet cable available.
Conclusion - quite expensive for the quality of the services provided.If you have time try to find something more nicer at those rates.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

One of the bad hotels in my life.
We found a dead mouse in hotel under the bed.
We change room, but all room smell very bad and are old
swiming-pool dirty too and hotel stuff very rude too.
Terrible Experience. Avoid this hotel there are 1000 hotels better than that.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

During a 14 days individual trip through Morocco we found this to be one of the best hotels we stayed in. Service is OK, rooms are clean and fairly large, even more important, there are comfortable chairs in the room. This is clearly the stepchild of many hotels which either don’t have chairs at all, assuming that guests prefer to lay on their beds all the time, or have chairs which will break your back after a few minutes. Breakfest is very good for Moroccan standards and also the diner as a buffet was one of the better we had on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I stayed here for a few days in August of 2009. I found the location to be great. It was only a few blocks away from the medina, which was my main area of interest. As other reviewers have posted, the restaurant in the hotel wasn't that great. It was a bit expensive and the food adequate. I found better things to eat in the medina. Drinks here were expensive and the bottles of beer were tiny.

One of the best things about the hotel was the pool area. After a long, sweaty, and dusty day of traipsing around the medina, going for swim felt like the best thing in the world.

Getting taxis to and from the hotel was not a problem. I found the staff to be mostly helpful. Sometimes the people at the front desk seemed annoyed when I was trying to purchase Internet time. The waiters that serviced the pool seemed extremely slow, despite the fact that there wasn't really anyone at the pool or in the pool bar.

There were always people on staff in the lobby. There were always door and elevator men. Both of those things made me feel safe. A few times, when leaving the hotel, there were random people walking around, selling knock off purses, t-shirts, key chains, and the like. The door men always "chased" them away.

If I return to Tangier, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the city centre and Medina. It is walking distance to a number of good restuarants also. Being outside the city centre you have the benefit of suburbia but one is close enough to the action. Good value for money and a great introduction to Morocco if this is your first stop.

The bathrooms have been redone and are great. The room is a little tired. The airconditioning / heating works well.

The front desk is not very helpfull and the free wifi did not work. breakfast was good. Resteraunt convenient but prefered to eat out. Would stay there when next in Tanger.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend trip in Tangers, and stayed at the Hotel intercontinental. It is not a good place to go if you are a woman travelling without a man, disgusting as this might sound, as the treatment you receive is totally different.
We went for meals at the hotel and the food was substandard. The lamb was tought and bony and the vegetables were out of a tin. They did not cater for vegetarians, so be prepared to starve. At breakfast the staff wouldn't let us choose our table and pointed and grunted at us to indicate where to sit. They stared at us throught and kept removing patrons food prematurely. They didn't offer a full menu and the hours were shortened to their liking. The bell boy and receptionist were rude, unhelpful and agressive in their attitude towards us. They frequently ignored us when we asked for assistance and set the wake up calls later than requested. Information was frequently conflicting. The receptionist when asked to exchange money shouted at us saying "shut up" and "what are you crying about", just to give you a flavour of how he spoke to us and what he felt was acceptable. All in all, nothing was simple and the attitude of staff was clear, don't bother us, because all we got in response was "it's ramadam!"

  • Liked — It was big
  • Disliked — The Staff & food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Really enjoyed our stay in Tangier and the Intercontinental Hotel was great. We came over from Spain and had not expected a Moroccan 4 star hotel to be as good as some of the the Spanish hotels we had stayed in. We were pleasantly suprised! The staff were really friendly and helpful, hotel pool area was lovely and clean and the room was very good. Breakfast (which we had to pay for) was also very good with a wide choice. Most importantly though, the location of the hotel is great. It is a short distance from the port (50 dirham in a cab) and within walking distance of the medina (or 20-30 dirham in a cab). Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel InterContinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental

Address: 3 Rue de Cordoue, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel InterContinental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel InterContinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel InterContinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.