We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with Family at La Tangerina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tangerina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tangerina
Save
You added La Tangerina to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Riad Sultan, Tangier, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay with Family at La Tangerina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We found La Tangerina on Tripadvisor. I can't find the words to fully describe our experience but all I'll say is that if you want to feel at home in Tangier, stay at La Tangerina. Farida, the owner is a warm and graceful host. We felt like we new her for decades. They really make you feel like you are a guest in their home and not in a hotel. The rooftop is spectacular and the breakfast is amazing. Fresh bread and jams and cheese, great coffee and tea. Farida and her husband put their heart and soul in to every little detail at every corner and in every space to make La Tangerina cozy, welcoming and a fantastic experience. Thank you millions!

Room Tip: The roof top room with terrace is spectacular and a tremendous value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    72
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
72
201
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We arrived at night, and upon entering the guest house, it was like we had stepped back in time to the 50s. They had Jazz playing on the radio that resonated throughout the house and the rooftop, the ambience was just magical! Quite a few rooms were not occupied, so we took a quick peak, and they all looked gorgeous!

The staff were really nice and made our stay very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

One thing though, we had called them a day earlier to ask for a taxi to pick us up from the train station since we were arriving late. The taxi never arrived, and we had to find our own way to the hotel. It seemed that the staff had ordered a taxi, but it somehow didn't come. Not sure who's fault it was, but it all worked out at the end!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband child and I stayed 3 nights at La Tangerina and our experience was amazing. Farida and her staff made every effort possible to ensure that our time was both comfortable and enjoyable. I can not wait to go back. I have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world but I will always remember La Tangerina.

Room Tip: All the rooms were breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed one night at La Tangerina, but we were originally scheduled for two. When a travel delay caused us to miss our first night they adjusted our reservation on short notice with no trouble. The staff was friendly, even though one gentleman spoke very little English. The breakfast was good, and was served on the rooftop terrace, which has an unbeatable view of the ocean & city. Other guests we spoke to had stayed several days and were also very pleased. There are no hair dryers, but other than that the rooms were very comfortable and clean. This used to be a private home, so the rooms are nothing like American-style chain hotels. The have a Hamam, so if you're interested in experiencing one, schedule in advance. I also recommend hiring Said Private Tours for a tour of the area while you are there.

Room Tip: Ask what rooms they have available & select based on your taste & price range. The stairs ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were in Seville for our 3rd day, the heat was killing us ( 35-40 degrees), and we had tossed around the idea of going to Tangiers for a night. We organised everything in an hour, including a quick call to La Tangerina, ( bus to Tarifa, Ferry to Tangier ) and off we went!
From the moment we were met by Farida who owns the hotel with her husband, we knew we were in for a treat. She is the most engaging Hotelier and actually enjoys helping her guests.
As we arrived just after dark, it was dinner time and we were hungry! Farida immediately organised for a local restaurant to escort us both ways....not so much for safety ( and we did feel safe in Tangier ), but more for the navigation through the labyrinthine passageways of the Kasbah.
Our room was simple, but very comfortable, clean, and QUIET. What a bonus!
The hotel itself has just 10 rooms, some with loft beds and amazing views of the sea over to Spain.
The hotel is out of the way of the busy areas, so its about a 10 minute walk to the souk....
The rooftop terrace where breakfast is served is as magical as Tangiers itself. Amazing views over to Spain. Romantic does not begin to describe it.
We had decided to stay 2 nights as the ferry/bus timetable back to Seville does not really allow moren than half a day in Tangiers if you stay just overnight, so we asked Farida if she could secure for us a guide....Well, 60 seconds later, we had engaged the services of Charif Alami Now we have just returned from our day out, and you really need some surprises on your journey, so, I'll say just this.....if you are lucky enough to have Charif as a guide, just go with his suggestions. I realised very early on in our day that I would be a lot poorer in my knowledge and experience if I had rejected ANY of his choices. He was with us for almost 7 hours, and today has been the absolute highlight of our trip.
Oh, and ladies, did I mention the Hammam? Charif mentioned it in passing and my wife was so taken with the idea, and La Tangerina has one of its own.....well, she just had to try it! Now I want one too.....but alas, I have derived so much pleasure from reliving this day and sharing it with TA, that I feel quite content....Oh, and they also organised a Taxi to pick us up from the ferry on arrival!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The roof-top terrace with a beautiful view of the Mediterrean at La Tangerina is worth a visit to Tangier. Breakfast pancakes in the morning, mint tea in the afternoon and the sunset in the evening...any time of the day. I did not want to leave.

The staff was very helpful. I only wish the bedrooms had A/C or at least a ceiling fan.

It was a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

After a grueling commercial waste of a tour with the famed Aziz B. tour crew, we retreated at the end of the day to La Tangerina. What a welcoming respite! The hospitality and generosity of the staff and owners of this charming hotel dissolved my angst. While our room (#10 on the terrace level with a private patio and views of the medina) was being prepared, we were brought tea and cakes while taking in the beautiful views of the sea from the sweeping terrace. The location is the heart of the kasbah on a high point overlooking the ocean. Very quiet and subdued. Our dinner at the hotel that evening was stellar and an incredible value (20 euros/per person for a 4 course meal). The food was absolutely delicious! The hotel graciously gave us a complimentary bottle of Moroccan wine, because the website (iescape) falsely stated that booking through their site would afford us a free bottle of wine. Although the owner were bewildered by the iescape offer, they demonstrated exemplary customer service by accommodating that offer. The surroundings are charming and warm with personal touches that make La Tangerina and unique and special place to stay. I loved the retro radios and piped in jazz, and the delicious complimentary breakfast of crepes, spreads, croissants, melon and fresh tea, coffee and juice. Should I return to Tangier I will definitely stay at La Tangerina and this time around I will book a driver/guide with them to a neighboring Berber village, to experience the 'real' Tangier.

Room Tip: Room #10 is located on the terrace which has sweeping views of the sea. The room itself is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tangerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tangerina

Address: 19 Riad Sultan, Tangier, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Tangier
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tangerina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
La Tangerina Tangier
La Tangerina Hotel Tangier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tangerina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.