We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tanja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tanja to your Saves list
Riad Tanja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Portugal, escaliers americains, Tangier 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

It wasn't easy to find this place, but then we arrived after dark (had to baksheesh someone to show us where it was). Lovely, authentic riad just inside the medina. The riad is very spacious and our room (a twin) was ENORMOUS. It's probably the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in - I could have held a hookah party for a dozen people easily. We had a great dinner in the hotel restaurant, with a most obliging waiter (I forgot his name unfortunately) catering to our every need. Oh with a live musician playing right beside us! Overall a very good stay. The only difficulty I could name is perhaps the fellow who seems to manage the place doesn't have the best English but enough to get things done when we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top floor that overlooks the road leading to the medina entrance. It's h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

- Well placed signage at entrance to the Medina meant we arrived effortlessly.
- A warm welcome, even using our pigeon French!
- Able to eat evening meal at short notice and it was fantastic. Vegetarians catered for. Waiter was exceptionally polite and took pride in his service. Gentle live music in background.
- Breakfast restful, tasty and varied.
- The room was quirky and interesting and very comfortable.
- Room's balcony had views to the markets below.
- Easy to explore the Medina and also 1 minute walk to local Taxi rank.
- The hotelier booked a tour for us around the coast of Morocco with a trustworthy taxi driver.
- A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We wanted to invite our Spanish friends for a typical Moroccan feast and were recommended to the Riad Tanja. It is not a restaurant you easily come across as you are walking around, it is tucked away in the Medina behind the old American legation. Even our friends who have been living in Tangier for over a year didn't know of its existence. Access would be difficult if not impossible for anyone in a wheelchair as the restaurant is upstairs. The dining room is beautiful with its high ceilings and carved wooden pillars, the decor is elegant and at lunch time the room is flooded with sunlight coming through its large windows. The room is air conditioned and very comfortable. The menus start at 250 Dhr. We opted for the 350 Dhr and 450 Dhr menus. All menus start with a mise en bouche of small Moroccan salads. These are a spread of various vegetables such as caviar d’aubergines, perles de carottes aux oignons with delicate flavours and beautifully presented. Then we had briouates, pastillas, tagines, couscous. We all chose different ones in order to share and compare and all of us had a fantastic gastronomic experience. The cuisine is Morrocan, refined with a touch of nouvelle cuisine. I must also mention the desserts and the one that stood out for me: the pear in an orange sauce. The service was attentive and very friendly. The restaurant is licensed to serve alcohol and wines although I cannot comment on any as we only drunk bottled water. In all a truly memorable lunch. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Room Tip: I can't comment, I only had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We got off to a bad start with out trip to Tangier, the direct ferry from Algeciras went to a port 1 hour drive away, we then had to wait ages for the free bus to get to Tangier which dropped us away from the port. It took ages to find the Riad, few people speak english and the taxi drivers didn't know where the address was. Also beware there are two Rue De Portugals in Tangier. Things vastly improved once we arrived, the staff were very accommodating and helpful, nice room, good food, good location, the staff really went the extra mile to help such as letting us have free use of a room while waiting around for the night train to Marrakech. The only negative thing is that it's so difficult to find, would have been easier if i spoke French!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel offered a real Moroccan experience. The room was spacious and pleasant. The dining room was beautiful and the food very good. This hotel
was easy to get to, just inside the Medina beside the American Legation Museum. The only drawback was trying to dine on their lovely balcony. There was a strong odor of fish from the markets below. It is a shame because it was so pretty on that balcony.
The managers were very accomodating and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Spain during which we visited Tangier. We had a guide meet us at the port and drive us to the Riad which was very close. It might be hard to find on your won but once we saw where it was I knew how to get to it.

The check in and check out processes were extremely quick and painless. The staff are wonderful (a young man who runs the riad and a girl who I assume cleans, serves in the restaurant etc). The riad has 5 rooms (all of which we saw) and I think I preferred our choice the best. It's the one with windows that face the market.

Anyway there are definitely updates that need to be done but it's not a large high end hotel so all those things did not bother me. I was more surprised by how clean and pleasant it was. Towels, robes, sheets were all spotless and snow white. Carpets were cleaned and everything felt like it was very well taken care of. We had a large plasma tv in our room (twice the size of the one we had in Spain) with lots of satellite channels.

We did not eat dinner at the riad because we had a really large and late lunch. Dinner is something they could possibly work on. The menu is in French and we don't speak a word. Also it's really expensive (25 euros is the cheapest, 45 is the most expensive) but the riad only has 5 rooms- if they had a simple menu we would have definitely grabbed something to eat. All we really wanted was something to share and some tea. We also didn't realize that breakfast was included and where about to leave when we found out. Did not get a chance to eat all of it but it was wonderful. And soo much.

This was just a really pleasant stay, exactly what we wanted from Tangier- to experience Morocco and I think this riad did that for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totana, Spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had problems driving to this hotel, and asked several people how to get there, unfortunately most could not direct us. We finally paid someone to guide us. Access to the hotel is poor, being up numerous steps and then through an alleyway. No good for anyone with mobility issues! The hotel is small, but the rooms are reasonable size. The decor is in need of a face lift! We found that the wastepaper bin in the bathroom had been stratigically placed to catch water leaking from the wash basin. Unfortunately we had moved the bin prior to washing our hands! We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but the dining room was quite impressive. Breakfast was excellent, and all the three staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. On balance - not a perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tanja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tanja

Address: Rue du Portugal, escaliers americains, Tangier 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tanja 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Tanja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tanja Tangier
Riad Tanja Hotel Tangier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tanja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.