We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tanger day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Tangier

Medina of Tangier
Tangier, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Medina of Tangier like an insider
$970*
and up
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Tangier
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Montrea,l Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tanger day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I bookd a day excursion from our hotel in Torremelinos (Bajondillo) it was a very enjoyable experience with a knowledgeable guide for the whole day,lunch was included as well as live entertainment.(belly dancer and four talented musicians) I would go back..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    199
    101
    30
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Get a guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hire a tour guide from the hotel to take you through the medina. It won't cost that much, you'll get a great tour of things you wouldn't have seen otherwise, you'll find your way out (which you might not otherwise!), and no one will bother you as you walk through the souks. However, you should know in advance that the guide will take you to shops where he gets a commission, usually 5%.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In the heart of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fantastic experience! Just wander, you'll find your way back eventually. Felt very sfe, people lovely Ate on the street for 5 euros for 2!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing bazaars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tangier has the best bazaars in the medina, out of the three others I've seen - Marrakech, Rabat and Casablanca. It seems they value visual effects and some of the ones I walked into were stunning. Prices are also reasonable and there isn't much bargaining in Tangier - I've even seen a few price-tags!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unfriendly welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would say this place is on the lower end of all Medinas in Morocco. Maybe it is our luck but we encountered the most unfriendly people here in our short Moroccan trip including Tangier - Chefchaouen - Tetouan.

For a real charming Medina, i would recommend Chefchaouen anytime over this filthy place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Tangier also viewed

Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to Medina of Tangier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Tangier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.