We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Tangier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Tangier to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Tangier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot N1 Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We travelled to Morocco for a few days trip and stayed 3 nights in Ramada Encore. The hotel in itself is great, very clean and cozy. However, you will probably like to hear the bad points.

Firstly, the staff speak no English at all. Not that it is a huge problem, but my fiancé could not communicate with them properly and I had to deal with everything in French. We found one guy at the desk speaking English but he was not there all the time obviously.

Secondly, the location is not great. It is about 20 minutes walking from the city centre and about 1 hour walk from the Medina. There is construction going on all around the hotel. There is a sewage river very close so every time we went to the city we had to smell that - it was horrible. Plus that river is being flushed into the sea, so there is no option you can dip there. Due to the aforementioned reasons the walk to the centre from the hotel is not pleasant at all, and also there is no proper pavement, loads of holes in the road so you risk breaking your foot.

One good point about the hotel - the breakfast is great. Cost: 80 MAD pp, which does not amount to £8 as someone else said but to £5.70 (at least at the moment of writing). It is very varied and very tasty (apart from coffee).

The hotel could improve on staff - the girl that was on the desk in the morning spoke only French and Arabic and when she spoke to me she was talking very very low, I could barely hear and understand her. The guy that came to fix internet spoke only Arabic. In terms of location, there is not much that the hotel can do, but I am sure that when all the construction is complete it will be a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a noiseless room - the construction in the front part of the hotel will not let you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Manuisse,

Thank you for your comments.
We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel.
We also appreciate your comments about the points that need to be looked at.
We will take measures to improve and avoid the matters you have brought up.

Thank you & BEst Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
19
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I traveled to Morocco on a study abroad trip in May. Our last night, we stayed in Tangier in order to catch the ferry in the morning to Spain. After a 6 hour drive to Tangier, I was ready to relax for a night! Check in took about 30 minutes because we had a large group but the manager was very accommodating.

Dinner was really good - the coffee and dessert was my favorite. The staff was very pleasant and even though they did not speak a lot of English, were so attentive and gracious. I wish we could have stayed another day to enjoy the pool area which was very well maintained and only about a block away from the beach.

My favorite part - the beds were unbelievably comfortable, probably the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. I am actually contemplating asking the hotel what brand! I would recommend this hotel to friends, families and couples!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Rachel,

The whole team at Ramada Encore thank you for your wonderful comments.
Our goal is to achieve that our guests are 110% satisfied with their experience amogst us.
It is very encouraging and rewarding for all the staff and management team to read comments like yours and realise that our hard work and effort is paying off.
We hope to have you amongst us on your next trip to Morocco (hopefully in the near future).

Thank You & Best Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenburg, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a problem
When checking in. Was told my booking was not paid in full and I had to pay again. I had to call Hotel.com and they called hotel to resolve. Too long for staff to resolve and did not even apologize. Next day I met manager Hicham Baddou. Told him I am not satisfied with staff. He was very apologetic and offer me and my entire complimentary breakfast. He really went out if his way to ensure we were happy. This I really appreciated and becos of his actions I would definitely stay here again. Keep in up. Faizel Ajam, South Africa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Ajam,

All the team at Ramada Encore Tangier thank you for yor patronage.
I am very pleased to hear that Hicham, Front Office Manager, was able to turn around the unpleasant situation you found yourself in.
We have taken your comments ver seriously and have schedules training sessions for the Front Office staff so that these situations do not occur again.
I am pleased also that your overall experienc at Ramada Encore Tangier was a positive one and that you will come back and stay with us in the future.
Again, in the name of all the staff, thank you again and see you soon!

Mohamed Lamarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Ramada encore tangier is the best hotel i have ever seen. High quality service and restaurant. Location is perfect. You can find everything easily. Room is clean and designed well. Wifi connection is free and strong all place at the hotel. Hotel stuff is very helpful, special thanks for the manager Hicham and receptionist Sara. İ recommend this hotel for everybody. Mükemmel otel kesinlikle Tancaya gelirseniz ilk tercihiniz burasi olsun. Diger otellerde sikinti yasayabilirsiniz.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Bahadir,

The whole team at Ramada Encore Tangier thank you for your patronage.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay amongst us.
Our goal is to meet every need and expectation of all our guests.
We hope to welcome you again amongst us in the future.

Thank You & Best Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The room we had was nicely appointed.the room was quite clean and was sized well. However, the walls allow a lot of music noise transmission on the corridor. It was difficult to get a good nights sleep. I cant recommend staying here just for that reason, also the heatin central does not work ,no wifi connection ,the room was verry cold and bad smell of toilet.
The composition of breakfast was not very well under average ,the chocolate rolls were bad a lot of butterfat, the citrus fruit with strange taste ,the bread was cold , Toufik was the best server that I can remember with good smile,he treated us all like family, Service like this is what sets this hotel from others and we will definitely make this our regular spot to stay on our many tangier’s trips only for the friendly staff in the restaurant and reception. Thanks again!

Room Tip: avoid noisy rooms !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear John,

The whole team at Ramada Encore Tangier thank you for your patronage.
Your comments have been taken into consideration and steps have been taken to avoid these issues in the future.
Rest assured that during you next stay, you will not hear the hallway music in your room, that the central air in your room is functioning properly as it is in all the other rooms, and that there is no foul smell in your room.....I wish you would have let us know about some of these issues during your stay, the hotel is a new property and we do not have these issues in any of the other rooms.
We are all very happy that you were satisfied with the service; at Ramada Encore Tangier, we strive to meet all our guests needs and expectations.
We hope to welcome you amongst us again in the future.

Thank You & Best Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Recommended by Ramada Fez, we stayed at this newly opened property. The promotional rate of Moroccan Dh 577.00 for a double room including buffet breakfast, is fabulous value. Well organised room, wi fi access, hair dryer, coffee & tea making facility (which is uncommon in Moroccan hotels based on our experience) and flat screen TV. Free parking.

Good buffet breakfast which consists of hot dishes, fruits, pastries, cereals, etc. The restaurant also serves dinner but we did not patronise it as there other options nearby.

Helpful English-speaking reception personnel. "Hisham" at the front desk was extremely accommodating (and patient) with our requests.

Good location as the corniche is just several mins walk away, and the city centre 20 mins , which is full of restaurants and cafes.

Since it is new, everything is clean and functioning. In view of the above points, we would give this hotel an excellent rating at this stage.

Submitted by;
See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mrs. Peng,

The whole team at Ramada Encore Tangier thank you for your patronage.
We all strive to meet all our guests' needs and expectations.
We hope to welcome you again in the future amongst us.

Thank You & Best Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in January 2014 with a group of friends.

Booked it online via booking.com for a reasonable price of £41/night for each twin room.
The hotel was very quiet and appeared to be predominantly vacant. We then learned that the hotel only opened a couple weeks ago and had not had an official launch yet as minor works were still being carried out, so it was still very quiet.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They offered complimentary tea and drinks every time we sat in the lobby waiting for friends to get ready/taxi to collect us etc.

We were initially given a few rooms including room 233. There Appeared to be a problem with the plumbing so there was a foul smell in the room. We informed staff and they immediately moved us to another room and apologised.

The decor is very 'loud' and red, however very nicely done with high quality tools used for bathroom sinks, tiles etc.
The entire hotel was very clean and tidy.

Swimming pool is outdoor so not suitable for the cold weather in January.

Breakfast was superb, with a good variety of freshly made buffet style food. Croissants/cakes etc were freshly made and were all nice and soft.

Overall quality of stay was good and I would definitely recommend the hotel to others travelling in the region.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed L, Manager at Ramada Encore Tangier, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Sayedyo,

The whole team at Ramada Encore Tangier thank you for your patronage.
We are very happy that we were able to resolve the issues you had in an effecient and timely manner. We strive to meet all our guests' needs and expectations; at Ramada Encore Tangier, we are very close and available to our guests all the time so we can assist and resolve any type of issue our guests might have.
We hope to welcome you again amongst us in the future.

Thank You & Best Regards

Mohamed Lamarti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Encore Tangier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Tangier

Address: Lot N1 Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Tangier 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and elegant Ramada Encore Tangier is perfectly located in the new city of Tangier near the business hub and leisure attractions, just 150 meters from Malabata beach, minutes away from the railway station, 10-minute drive from the Medina, and just 16 Km from Tangier Ibn Battouta airport. This contemporary urban midscale hotel featuring 194 trendy rooms with free Internet access and complimentary coffee/tea making facilities, stand-alone ball room, different meeting rooms, various dining options, outdoor adult and kid swimming pools, and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest public areas make it the ideal meeting and enjoyment place; a perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for value, quality products and passionate service at reasonable price. At Ramada Encore Tangier, we work around you, giving you what you need, when you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Encore Tangier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Tangier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.