We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas les Almohades Tanger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas les Almohades Tanger to your Saves list
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Avenue Mohammed VI, Tangier 90000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
sandiego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel lucks service. The only service we got was from doorman and security. The front desk tell you no towel, no crib , no currency exchange. Any thing you ask they don't have it. The rooms were oaky not very clean. The lounge area is old. The location is walking distance to city.
Overall We don't plan to go again. The rooms are not secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
20
46
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with extremely helpful and friendly personnel. Excellently situated, not far from the medina and casbah. Rooms possessing partial sea-view on the sides give nice panorama of the beach from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

its not my first time in that hotel, always happy to come back, in front of beach, in the heart of city center. what i like in that hotel is that there are many restaurants, bars....around hotel. you don t need car or taxi. hotel services very correct, receptionnist smahane very nice, i thank her for being always there for helping me:
what is interesting too is that rooms are very large with balcony.good break fast with some moroccan special cookies

Room Tip: large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

There's nothing wrong with this hotel really, and a 3.5 rating would be fair, but I'm going to have to err lower. The staff are helpful, it's clean enough, the pool area is actually reasonably quiet and relaxing, breakfast is alright, and the restaurant on the top floor is pretty good.

What lets the place down is where it is. The location is very good on the face of it; fairly central and right on the beach. However, the noise can be a problem, especially on a weekend. I'm a fairly heavy sleeper, but the 4am car horn crescendo even woke me up on the Saturday night. And, to be honest, Tangier isn't that great. However, none of that is actually a fault of the hotel, which we had no problems with at all. If you're going to stay in Tangier, I'm pretty certain you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, VT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The facilities, lobby, guest rooms and dining areas are all very nice in this hotel. However, the food in the dining room for our group tour was pitiful in general (overcooked chicken, tasteless, overcooked vegetables--same vegetables repeated each day, by the way, as was the bland potato soup), though our third evening a buffet did provide somewhat better fare, except for the same old vegetables and, of course, soup. Housekeeping was strange--only one glass in the bathroom for two people sharing the room, no replacement of toilet paper throughout our 3-day stay--we completely ran out our last morning and had to swipe a roll from the housekeeping cart down the hall. Key cards repeatedly failed to work, one elevator never worked, used towels apparently refolded and put back on the rack--how to tell whose was whose? No bidet towels, and hardly enough shampoo for two. Empty minibar. It's a shame--an attractive, well located hotel like this one run so poorly.

On the other hand, nice view from the balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I used this review title recently to sing the praises of a hotel we visited while touring New Zealand. I use it again, but this time pejoratively.
My wife and I stayed at Atlas des Almohades for three nights as part of a group from Spain. On the face of it this is an impressive hotel; spacious, airy, clean in the public areas and equally spacious, clean and comfortanle in our room. BUT....
We had been led to believe that the hotel had only very recently passed from Ramada to Atlas, but the reviews by previous contributors claelry show that the changeover was the best part of two years ago, at least. On that basis the things that were wrong should have been rectified long ago; most of them needed nothing more than a tour of the rooms by the Housekeeper, with a member of the maintenance staff in tow. Silly things like a balcony but no furniture on it to make it usable, a minibar that was empty, wardrobe doors that were so ill-fitting that both could not be closed at the same time, a room safe but no instructions for setting it, a shaving mirror with only two positions - flat up against the wall, or hanging limply down on its bracket.
More seriously, the hotel had two lifts to serve eight floors, but throughout all four days of our stay one lift was permanently and immovably on Floor 1. An appalling set meal for our group on the first evening. My wife and I greatly reduced our salt intake many years ago, but the vegetable soup (only potato so far as we could judge) was seriously underseasoned even for us, as was the boiled rice that accompanied the overcooked chicken and the vegetables swiming in water on the plate. THis was followed by a “gateau” that could easily have soaked up all the water from the vegetables and originated in some far off food factory, never in the hotel kitchen. Of the three red wines on the wine list, one was not available. All of this was made worse by the fact that I had confirmed with the concierge on Reception that, as it was our wedding anniversary that day, we could elect to have the a la carte menu and simply pay the difference. The maitre d’, on the other hand, was adamant; we were with the group so we would have the set meal. Period.
The second night we chose to eat elsewhere. Just as well. The other thirty members of the party dutifully arrived at 8pm as instriucted to find all the tables set for breakfast. Nobody from management had thought to inform the kitchen that the group would be staying three nights. This ensured two things - a lengthy wait until something was cobbled up, and a maitre d’ in a filthy mood which he apparently made no attempt to conceal from his guests. The communication breakdown no doubt explains why all our rooms key cards had been cancelled that morning, so that we had to queue up to have them reinstated; strangely the chambermaids had been aware that the rooms simply needed to be made up, not stripped and remade ready for new occupants.
I do not like submitting negative reviews; if I’m not happy then I prefer not to review. However, Tripadvisor members need to be warned that they choose this hotel at their peril.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location of the hotel was so good. The sea is ini front of your lobby. Beside that, many night club or cafe near hotel. But negative thibgs is you will get some noise at midnight. But fortunately my room didnt hear anything last night.
The facility was minimum. No toothbrush, no compliment drink, no coffee or tea. And the breakfast very standard

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas les Almohades Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas les Almohades Tanger

Address: 43 Avenue Mohammed VI, Tangier 90000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlas les Almohades Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlas les Almohades Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Almohades Hotel Tangier
Ramada Hotel Tangier
Ramada Hotel Les Almohades
Ramada Tangier
Tangier Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas les Almohades Tanger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.