We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer elegance, albeit a little dated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Minzah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Minzah Hotel to your Saves list
El Minzah Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Sheer elegance, albeit a little dated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is famed for being Winston Churchill's fave place to stay. I understand it's also been visited by many Hollywood celebrities over the years. None of that was enough to put me off and I enjoyed three nights here, alas on business. The decor is moorish and Moroccan in style, albeit a little dated. However the food was pretty amazing, this being a gastronomic delight with various restaurants on site. The hotel is also ideally situated for exploring central Tangier. The only downside was that it rained for the duration of my stay, which of course can't be blamed on the hotel.

Room Tip: Great views are available of the bay of Tangier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    139
    71
    36
    26
See reviews for
53
132
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had booked this hotel through expedia ... first when we checked in the room that we booked was supposed to have a balcony but did not....it took them a long time to get our lugagge to the room , we didnt care much as we were so excited to be in such a beautiful hotel in tangier but the safe wasnt working either as the host tried to show us how to use it and couldnt figure out how to open it.... he said ok I ll send someone but we were totally ignored and nobody showed up ...also the day we were leaving the elevator wasnt working either and one of the crew told us oh its not working but she never cared to call anybody to help my husband carry our luggage through the stairs... finally as we were checking out they refused to take my expedia master card and said the system didnt work !!!! Shame on alminzah hotel management , its a beautiful hotel with an amazing arabic architecture thats supposed to show the great moroccan hospitality not a horrible poor service...

Room Tip: Rooms that claim to have balconies through expedia do not exist . Do not know if its expedias fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Comfortable clean room with excellent ensuite. Easy to walk into central Tangier, but quiet. Elegant decoration and very tasty food. Unfortunately Only stayed overnight but would definitely return if wanted to stay in Tangier again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The price and the stars given to this hotel are in no way woth it. The hotel might have had its days, years ago. The photos and some reviews here had me booking 4 nights at it, I felt fooled. The location is not bad bad, the view, is nice, and the outside of the hotel has its charm, but the inside needs badly a complete refurbishing. Old and not very clean. Service is faulty, and not worth the price charged.
Really I do not recomend.

Room Tip: IF you decide to book a room, try the ones facing the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Loved the history of this hotel! Supposedly Winston Churchill's favorite.
Our room was clean, decorated with character, and comfortable. We did not have much of a view - the shopping street below and straight out the window, over the rooftops, was the McDonald's sign! Mercy!
A few couples in our group had difficulty finding a room with air conditioning. One couple tried 4 rooms before success. At least the management did not give up on them.
Dinner and breakfast were very good.
Internet seemed only to work in the lobby.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This one of the most impressive of hotel in morocco the other reviews say it all. Comfortable with turndown service. The breakfast was great with fresh local fruits. (The best fig I have ever had!),meats cheeses, crepes and local dishes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel really made the trip great! Tangier can really be chaotic, dirty and shady that even if I love the exoticness of the place so much, no one is spared from culture shock coming form the west. So El Minzah was really a great refuge! The people were helpful, the food was great - especially the morroccan dinner which I highly recommend! and the breakfast buffet! Plus the views of our room with a terrace was breathtaking! The arabic design of the hotel added to the charm and what is everything Morroccan (how it should be)...as if we were transported back in time to the golden age of Morrocco...I highly recommend this hotel as it is in itself an experience....and its proximity to the Medina, Kasbah and the port of arrival from Spain makes it even better!....Many have also warned me that the stars on the hotel wont matter in Morrocco - example 3 stars can have a hostal level of service and so on....so be cautious. However the only thing not 5 star about this hotel is the price!!! Quite reasonable for its 5 stars compared to others in Tangier....So when in Tangier dont look any further ;) One of the best stays!

Room Tip: Room with a terrace/balcony highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Minzah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Minzah Hotel

Address: 85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#3 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Minzah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Moorish Hotel situated in heart of town, overlooking the Strait of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Minzah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Minzah Tangier
Hotel El Minzah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Minzah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.