We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Do It!! it was that bad we left after one night,,,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Minzah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Minzah Hotel to your Saves list
El Minzah Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Tangier
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont Do It!! it was that bad we left after one night,,,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I do not often write a review on hotels i have stayed in as i have never really felt compelled to do so. I read a number of reviews on here and thought that the good out weighed the bad, The good reviews are not a true reflection note this review to warn you.From staying here i do feel people should be warned this is not a 5 star hotel by any means and i have stayed in Morocco before so i know what to expect from a African 5 star hotel. The service was so poor it was unbelievable, Not once was i served at my table and continuously had to search for hotel staff to get a drink. The food is probably the worst i have ever eaten and i am very sure the Lamb is not Lamb and Beef really was not Beef.. I expected to pay over the odds for alcohol as it is a Muslim country but i would say you can find cheaper beer in Dubai the average beer price at the hotel is £8.00 for a local half beer. Leaving the hotel everything is a sell for the locals if your a westerner to the point its annoying, the guides just take you around their friends shops its relentless. The place is very dirty but it is a port town so not a main tourist attraction like the west coast of Morocco. If you go book into a smaller family run hotel you will be treated better and will not miss out as this hotel is truly no 5 star and is very dated and old.. On the plus side it has a pool and you can see the Sea....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Sean,

Thank you very much for your mail and we are honestly concerned and a bit surprised with your comments.

Let me inform you that the products we use in El Minzah are selected personally by our chief .

Since it is really important for us to get the feedback from our guests, I would like to thank you for your comments, even though, such it is in your case, this feedback may not be as positive as I would hope for.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    154
    76
    38
    27
See reviews for
62
141
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

An attractive property with good location, ocean views and pool area. A real buzz to see an Arabic hotel, especially this one with the photos around the public areas of the famous guests that have stayed.
A good room with an air conditioner battling to cope with the windows that don't quite close properly. Room had pen, matches, lotions etc provided but a locked mini bar and no supplied drinking water.
As part of a bus tour, I didn't expect the room with the ocean view, but I did expect the room to be made up when the room key was issued. I did expect the room key to actually open the door. But alas that didn't happen for me and several fellow travellers.
Restaurant meal, of chicken and cus cus, was poor for a bus group meal, wine was way overpriced as was for the Casablanca beer at €6 per small bottle. Our waiter seem reluctant to find change for the drinks bill and when confronted managed to sneak local coins into the change instead of the euro they were paid in.
Management does not seem to have a good grip on quality control. But I have nothing else in Tangier to compare this hotel with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Read other reviews that spoke of the spaciousness of the bed rooms but ours was small and fairly basic. The public rooms, the bars and restaurants are spectacularly old fashioned and very pleasing and comfortable. We found the bar service a tad slow after our orders taken but enjoyed the plates of almonds, crisps and olives that were brought to our table. All staff encountered were very pleasant and polite. We ate one evening on the patio, a large open inner courtyard which has a French menu. They changed this to a Moroccan one at our request. I am not sure that we made the correct choice but enjoyed what we ate. Breakfast buffet excellent and eggs and crepes freshly cooked to order. The hotel has a large outdoor pool, plenty of loungers and a separate indoor wellness centre with another pool. Overall we enjoyed our long weekend at this delightful oasis a short 5 minute walk from the Medina.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience within El Minzah Hotel. Your satisfaction is very rewarding for all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came here in August and I have to say everything was above our expectation ,
The food was beautiful and the the breakfast was amazing , plenty of cold and hot choices , freshly squeezed orange juise , fresh Moroccan pan cakes made to order and a lot more .
The reception team was excelent dealing with all our enquiries , the hotel was clean and the staff very polite and friendly . I have been traveling a lot and I have to say this was one of the best hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Chakir,

Thank you for your motivating and wonderful review!

We would like to thank you for your trust in El Minzah Hotel by Le Royal Hotels & Resorts and for your kind words regarding your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very rewarding for all of us and we truly appreciate being one of the best hotels you stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found the El Minzah to be a gracious, kitschy hotel with a very lovely pool. It was interesting to look at the pictures of all the stars who had stayed at El Minzah over the years and we loved the decor.

We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. I would agree with the other comments that I don't think this is a 5-star hotel but we found it to be a very nice place to stay.

We would actually recommend Fez or Chefchaouen as better destinations than Tangiers. Our tour of the Medina was touristy and disappointing and we were most happy when the staff at El Minzah helped us charter a taxi to Chefchaouen. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We came here on our honeymoon and not impressed in the slightest! I would say this is a 3* hotel and expensive at that!!
The food here is horrendous, my husband ordered 2 meals whilst here in 2 different restaurants and couldn't eat either! I could only eat one and that was a dish which was pretty hard to get wrong. When he complained he was met with a simple 'oh dear!' Nothing was done to rectify the situation no further food offered or money off the bill. It was almost as if they were used to the same complaint and were very blasé about it. We've eaten better morrocan food in Belgium. The service in the bar area was tremendously slow and not particularly friendly. Don't even think about asking the concierge for ideas on where to go as he will just put you in hands of a 'guide' who will charge you whatever he thinks he can get away with ( he started at 30 euros each, we settled on 20 euros for the both of us) to walk you around his friends shops in the medina where you will be pressured into buying carpets and other such items. To be fair the people out in the markets were very nice as was our guide but these weren't really the ancient sights we wanted to see. The hotel is clean and the rooms large but not suites. We were apparently 'up graded' to the room we had booked originally. The room was fine if we were staying in a 3* maybe 4* hotel but it just didn't have the luxurious feeling of a 5*.
We have noticed the owner has put the hotel up for sale maybe this is the reason for the lack of service. Unfortunately a disappointing stay on what should have been a very special holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mrs.,

I am very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant as you expected.
I’m very surprised about your comments because El Minzah Hotel is an establishment that enjoys international reputation and receive congratulations from hundreds of satisfied customers, both in its facilities and the service and care provided to our clients.

Since it is really important for us to get the feedback from our guests, I would like to thank you for your comments, even though; such it is in your case, this feedback may not be as positive as we would hope for.

Let me inform you that, following your words about the service, we have revised and improved all the points.

I remain at your entire disposal.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first night in Morocco and our only night in Tangier. We were traveling with a tour company so did not have choices. Our hotel was comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the Medina. The few staff members we encountered were helpful.
We did not spend much time at the hotel as the nearby Medina was our focus. We needed bottled water and the wine bar could provide that for a modest fee. Our breakfast was provided and was delicious with fresh juice, coffee, crepes and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Minzah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Minzah Hotel

Address: 85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#5 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Minzah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Moorish Hotel situated in heart of town, overlooking the Strait of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your El Minzah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Minzah Tangier
Hotel El Minzah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Minzah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.