We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata to your Saves list
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Malabata, Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Biella, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A worthwhile accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hotel is excellent and located in very good area of Tangeri. The service was great and people very kind. Very good quality for money. Very good opportunity for business or for tourism. Good parking facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    38
    27
    16
See reviews for
34
45
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived with friends for a two-day stay last summer. We had contacted the manager before we came and asked for some good suggestions for a first time visit to Tangier. When we arrived the manager Rachid Jebari met us and had upgraded both families to three suites. What a great treat! Even though the suites are not newly refurbished, they were spacious and quite comfortable. The view was amazing.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool area wich was clean and very pretty. We did struggle finding towels, and had to ask the pool attendant to bring us some. It took him a long time and when he finally came he handed us some very worn and ragged towels. I must say I was surprised. I would have thrown them away at home, and a luxury resort should never offer their guests something like that.

The food at the restaurant was so so... Maybe because of Ramadan the selection was limited? The food is pricy, which is ok if the quality is first class. The quality here was not first class. We chose to only eat there once.

Rachid followed up with us several times and really worked hard to make our stay perfect. I just wished the rest of the staff were equally attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately many off the staff seemed disinterested and arrogant. Our waiters did not smile once during our meal. It was as if they were irritated by anything we asked for. The friend we were traveling with is a consultant who has made one of Norways most famous hotel profitable. His comment was that the hotel's main problem was the attitude of the staff. Except for an amazingly pleasant and hard working manager, we really felt the rest of the place lacked the things you desire at top luxury resort.

Because of Ramadan the hotel was quite empty and there was really nothing going on. The bar/nightclub was closed, as was the a la carte restaurant. This was probably why the rates were so low. Compared to what we paid for the rooms we got an excellent deal. The upgrade to suites really made this trip special and would probably stay there again if Rashid took care of us:-)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. You can always ask for an upgrade, maybe you'll be lucky:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Out of Reception there were vast undefined public areas. Access to the restaurant difficult for people with mobility problems. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a view of Old Tangier 4 km away. Uninsulated electrical connections on bedside lights were potentially dangerous. The buffet dinner and breakfast were both good in choice and quality, but the food was not particularly hot. Fine for an overnight stay but we would not want to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I'm very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. I have taken good note of your valuable comments which will help us to improve our services. In spite of this, I hope you enjoy your stay with us and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, I remain with,
Best regards.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a disappointment after spending 3 nights at the wonderful Riad Arabesque in Fes. What a disappointing end to our Jules Verne "Morocco Revisited" tour. Where do I begin? This was probably the most "soulless" hotel I have ever stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few in my time!). The room was clean and of a reasonable size and the chambermaids always acknowledged our existence, smiled and said hello - more than can be said for most of the other staff members. The reception areas were some of the poorest I have experienced. The shops were never manned. The bar service was poor.
The restaurant areas were bland - but the food was OK albeit nothing special.
The hotel was over 2 miles from Tangier town so not particularly well situated.
The final insult was finding that there was no free broadband access anywhere in the hotel - and that there was a £12.50 a day charge for an access code to sign on! To be fair when we complained (having made one payment) the desk clerk on reception gave us complementary access for the next day - but then blotted his copybook by denying he had done so when asked for a similar concession by the two other couples on our tour!

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were OK - but our best advice would be to try rooms in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I’m very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your visit. I greatly value your comments which will help us to improve our services and please rest assured that I shall bring your comments to the concerned departments.

Sincerely yours.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Such bad experience as follow;
- After checking in, we waited for one hour to get towels.
- the bed covers are over used and old.
- It's my second day and still waiting the hotel to fix room AC, but no one give attention till now.
- to use sauna/steam and jacoozi after 4pm you have to pay even if you are room guest (strange)
- the room lack to minibar as advertised, the fridge is completely empty even no glasses provided.
I honestly advice anyone planning to visit this great city (Tangier) to avoid this hotel in order not to spoil the vacation/stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I'm very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. I consider your email as a very valuable document, which helps us to improve our services and I have treated your comments accordingly with the areas and the personnel involved and have done the necessary corrections. We will work hard to improve this and would be glad to be able to show you during your next stay, that we are living up to our guest's 5 stars expectations.

Sincerely yours.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very out of date and difficult to find way around hotel. Near busy. noisy road even though good view from tiny balcony over the coast line. Evening meal, buffet, all cold and uninteresting. Breakfast very ordinary.

Room Tip: The better view from high level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Initially room had no air conditioning. engineer came to fix it but went away again and not much then happened. Asked reception if we could change rooms and they agreed we could do so. After dinner back in the room the aircon was working so did not change. Nice views over the sea towards Spain. Hotel a long way out of town and walk into town was not very pleasant - in fact gave up after 15 minutes.
Buffet dinner was very good but service was poor. Staff seemed untrained and rather disorganised. Had to wait well over an hour for second course when we were the first in the restaurant and almost the last to be served!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata

Address: Route de Malabata, Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata in Tangier is a hotel of the luxury class and houses one of the largest casinos in Africa. This comfortable property is majestically enthroned above the Malabata Bay, and grants a breathtaking view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel And Casino Malabata
Moevenpick Hotel Tangier
Moevenpick Hotel Malabata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.