We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new, and near the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Moussafir Tanger

Save Saved
You added Ibis Moussafir Tanger to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Moussafir Tanger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Nationale 1, KM 12 | Zone Franche - Gueznaya, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Tangier
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, new, and near the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Travelling in Morocco, I found it really easier to book hotels near the train station - don't need the rapacious hordes of taxidrivers. This Ibis was pretty new, the rooms were well appointed for Ibis and the service was good.
Despite the fact that I didn't like Tanger the town too much, the hotel was good - stored my bags after checkout until my evening train.

Room Tip: Have a bright and breezy attitude when you checkn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
43
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Samoens, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The staff were very helpful, great value for money!
Good no frills hotel, all new and clean. Overall a solid hotel to stay in for a few nights!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS T, Directeur général at Ibis Moussafir Tanger, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Mrs,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Tanger free zone. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
leila OUALID
GENERAL MANAGER IBIS TANGER FREE ZONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

This a very simple hotel, that suits fine if you are just passing by, or if you are not looking for luxury. I used it for just one night on my tour in morroco . The breakfast is ok, the experience was nice, the only downside is that they were in construction works in the hotel, they should make a discount when that happens. The hotel is far from the center, but it is on the main road, if you are heading or coming from the north, it is ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loddekopinge, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was there 2008.
Room had a very strange smell, smelt like they had thrown a perfume bootle in the AC.
Bad uncomfortable beds.
Bathroom was medium standard.
Breakfast typical Morocco style.
Internet was working for some times during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

The hotel was located right in the middle of the 'Free Zone' which is basically the industry zone. It is far away from the city, shopping (aka souks), and the beach/port. Everyday we had to take a long ride into the city which is not attractive for someone attempting to travel for pleasure. However this location was perfect for the Europeans who travel there for Business. I heard from a french woman on the way back home on the plane that the Hotel Continental is a much better choice.

The rooms were moderately cleand and also be advised the free wi-fi they advertise is only offered downstairs in the lobby/lounge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

we (me, my wife and our 8 years son) paid about 50 Eur for one night. It's good value for someone like us that were traveling by car and this time preferred to book in advance, so the choice for unexpensive accomodation gets much more narrow.

Although it is about 12 Km away from the center, that is not a big issue if you are with a car, as it is on the border of the road to Asilah, Rabat and the airport.

Surprisingly for a road hotel, it is a nice place to be for a while, with its nice garden and swimming pool in the back yard.

As going overland to Morocco almost allways implies passing by Tangier, I suspect that I'll use this hotel in the future.

A note for those families wanting their young children to sleep in the room: they don't pay but they also have no extra beds - they have to sleep on the floor. On our first stay they provide a mattress, but that wasn't possible on the second stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Moussafir Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Moussafir Tanger

Address: Route Nationale 1, KM 12 | Zone Franche - Gueznaya, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Moussafir Tanger 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Moussafir Tanger hotel is located close to the TANGER FREE ZONE business centre, close to Boukhalef airport and the city centre. A tourist excursion to explore Cap Spartel is recommended. The hotel has 104 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, including 2 for disabled guests. You also have a LA TABLE restaurant, a bar open 24/24, and a swimming pool and garden for your relaxation. A meeting room and parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Moussafir Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Moussafir Tanger Hotel Tangier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Moussafir Tanger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.