We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful experience !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Chams Tanja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Chams Tanja to your Saves list
Dar Chams Tanja
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 rue Jnan Kaptan | Medina Bab el Assa, Tangier 11111, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful experience !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My fiancé and I vacationed in southern Spain for 2 weeks and decided to spend 2 days in Tangier. Dar Chams came highly recommended so we decided to give it a try. It is one of the nicest places either of us have ever stayed. It is located in the heart of the Kasbah. The guesthouse is spotlessly clean and impeccably decorated - very warm and comfy with all the amenities you could want. We had been impressed with the look of the entire guesthouse and the rooms from looking at the website but, it is even nicer in person. The owners, Michelle and Dominic are delightful people and made us feel very welcome. When we arrived they served us Moroccan mint tea and cookies in the beautiful sitting area on the first floor and we had a nice chat. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner and even had someone escort us there and back so we would not get lost. Our room and our bed was extremely comfortable and had everything we could have wanted - we felt pampered. Michelle gave us a tour. It was a bit cool at the time we visited but, she showed us the beautiful roof top patio where guests have breakfast when it is warmer. It provides a beautiful view of the city and the port. Breakfast was without a doubt the best breakfast I have had at any hotel, guesthouse, bed and breakfast or even at friends. It was delicious and served in a beautiful atmosphere. I recommend Dar Chams wholeheartedly. The Rick Steves guidebook where I first learned about Dar Chams classified it as one of the more expensive guesthouses in Tangier but for what you get the price is extremely reasonable. It is not just a place to rest for the night - it is a great experience. If you are going to Tangier don't miss this opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
112
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Where do you start? We were staying in southern Spain and decided to go over to Tangier on the ferry for two days. We found this hotel through Trip Adviser and Booking.com and realised, within ten seconds of arriving there, that we had made the most perfect choice of hotel.

We were greeted by Dominic and Michele, the couple that owns the seven-bedroom (all individually furnished and appointed) hotel, situated right in the middle of the Medina and the Kasbah. We were given a freshly-brewed mint tea and marvelled at the beautifully tasteful decor and furnishings of the hotel. The hospitality was so perfectly-pitched and so natural. The bedroom was just beautifully-appointed. Prior to going out for the evening we were given a complimentary glass of wine and more conversation and hospitality. We asked where we could go and were recommended a traditional Moroccan restaurant in the Medina. Someone came to take us there and we had a fantastic meal there. The next morning we were spoilt with a traditional Moroccan breakfast (which just kept coming with more and more dishes), had a rest up on the terrace at the top of the hotel, with wonderful views of Tangier, and then spent the rest of the morning and afternoon exploring the Medina and Kasbah.

For anyone who wants to go to Tangier and is looking for wonderful service, staying in perfect surroundings, hosted by fantastic hosts, should look no farther than the Dar Chams Hotel.

Michele and Dominic - thank you for the most perfect stay we could have ever imagined.


Andrew and William

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The owners were wonderful, the rooms terrifc, and the staff very efficient and curtiuos. Its the only place to stay in the Medina. Our apprhension of visiting a totally different culture was relieved once we met owners Dominique and Michelle. They arranged dinner for us; even arrnaged for the restaurant to send an escort for us. If we return to Tangiers, we will definitely stay at Dar Chams.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites. Its well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Michelle and Dominic are lovely people and Dar Chams was very beautiful and comfortable. Gorgeous views from rooftop and wonderful cookies by delightful staff. This is a new hotel and beautifully built. Michelle and Dominic chose a Moroccan woman as their architect and the result is lovely! We hit some bad weather in January when we came through-- quite an anomaly-- and everyone went out of their way to smooth our journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just spent two nights at Dar Chams before travelling on to Marrakech and we are already looking forward to the night we have planned there en route back to Spain. We both wished we had planned to stay longer in Tangiers and will definitely return for a longer stay.

Michelle and Dominic are perfect hosts. They catered for all our needs and anticipated a number we hadn't thought of in advance. Arranging taxis, getting train tickets for us (you can only buy train tickets when in the country) to recommending excellent restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble.

And, as an earlier poster commented, the breakfasts are incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Many Thanks to Michele and Dominique for these 3 nights in Dar Chams Tanja, very nice people, open minded. Nice place to stay, very clean, good breakfast with a large variety of dishes. A beautiful view on Tangier Harbour from the roof of the ryad. Do not hesitate to visit them !!!!!!Arnaud

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent three nights here during Christmas. Everything about this place is exceptional, not good - perfect! Michele met us at the door and served us wonderful mint tea and cookies. Dominic suggested a restaurant just steps away and we were transported into another world. The breakfast was incredible. Eggs made to order and served with all sorts of delicious side dishes. The room was a respite after a long day out seeing the sites of Tangier. Beautifully appointed with a great bathroom with lush towels and bathrobes and slippers. The view from the rooftop terrace is amazing. The staff is super attentive and made sure anything we needed was provided. Don't even think of staying any where else while in Tangier.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Chams Tanja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Chams Tanja

Address: 2 rue Jnan Kaptan | Medina Bab el Assa, Tangier 11111, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Chams Tanja 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set crossroads of the Kasbah and Medina, the Dar Chams Tanja guesthouse offers an exceptional view over Tangier, its bay and the Straits of Gibraltar. It is within easy access of the souks.The guests house receives you warmly and offers amenities and confort with high quality. In Dar Chams Tanja you will find the quietude you are looking for.Dar Chams Tanja is a traditional Moroccan guest house with high standing and confort: suites and rooms offer air-conditioning reversible, TV satellite 16/9, sound system, free wifi access, comfortable and large bedding and private bathrooms.Guests can dine upon request. We serve typical Moroccan cuisine in the dining room or on the terrace.Dar Chams Tanja also provides a 24-hour reception and a well-being centre, which offers massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Chams Tanja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Chams Tanja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.