We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dark stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de Cap Spartel, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 43 Tangier B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A dark stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were there as part of a tour group and our time was limited to check in, dinner, sleep, early breakfast and out again. That was probably enough.
I can't get used to these hotels where most of the lighting is operated by movement sensors ie most of the time you enter areas that are dark and until you wave your arms, move in an exaggerated manner, the sensors do not activate the lights. Consequently one guest almost fell down some steps in the dark corridor but fortunately only his glasses broke - no bones.
Wouldn't recommend a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndaluciaGolf, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and for your understanding! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to adjust ourselves in improving guest’s satisfaction.
Your comments have been shared with the appropriate department heads to ensure we provide the proper service and information to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    25
    21
    35
See reviews for
23
47
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I ended up at this hotel, when their other location in Tangier was full. I pouted because I was informed that it was a bit far. Ends up that it was not too far at all, but a bit removed from any action/things to do.

I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel:
--Nice, smartly decorated and inviting lobby.
--Pleasant restaurant and great food.
--Nice breakfast set up: spacious and a variety of breakfast selections.
--There's also a lounge/club.
--Spa services on the ground/basement floor.
--There were lots of places to sit and lounge.
--The wifi worked.
--Nice balcony with furniture.
--The workout/exercise room was just okay.

--The room was spacious.
--The bed was comfortable.
--The bathroom was interesting. The shower does not have a door and the water will spill out on to the floor. It's not a good design and they should leave additional towels with the anticipation that the water will be all over the floor after a shower.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndaluciaGolf, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience à l'Hôtel Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tanger ! Nous sommes heureux de constater que l’hôtel ait pût vous charmer. Nous sommes toutefois déçu que certains points n'aient pût combler vos attentes.
Nous espérons sincèrement avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors de vos prochains séjours à Tanger. Au plaisir de vous revoir parmi nous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Upon leaving Spain, we caught the ferry from Tarifa to Tangier. (Note - duty fee prices for alcohol are cheaper on this ferry than most major airports). When you arrive you instantly know you are in a different world. We were there in August, it was hot (which we like), but your first impressions of the surrounding neighbourhood might not be so great……until you arrive in this gem of a hotel. Great ambience once inside and a fantastic courtyard and infinity pool await you outside. Traditional music plays in the background whilst you sip cocktails and the staff are attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndaluciaGolf, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.
Thank you for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

They steal everything they can. When you report it to the management, they really don't care. We asked to talk to the hotel manager several times, over three days, he just couldn't find the time. It's not like the hotel was jammed packed or anything, there were only a few guests.

Besides the stealing the hotel is dump. When you walk down the hall there are soft spots in the floor. You are not sure if you are going to fall through. Additionally the carpet is stained and disgusting. The lights are on automatic timers, but they don't turn on fast enough so you are always walking down a dark corridor. Not exactly homey.

Do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel offers an excellent quality for a good price. The comfort is first class as well the service.
The only negative point (which is also a plus) it is 10 minutes by taxi to the centre of the town. So is is quite near the golf course. Since the taxis are cheap, this was for us not a problem.
The breakfast are very good. The restaurant is OK but you find much better and cheaper downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This past August we have reservations made through American Express Travel Services. We were scheduled to arrive from Spain on August 13. I was traveling with my wife and four children. We arrived to Tangiers approximately at 9 PM and the hotel at 10:pm. To our surprise we were told that the hotel was full and they couldn't honor our reservations. The final decision was made at approximately 2 AM. They found an hotel for us to spend the night and also provide transportation. I thought this was a terrible incident. I will never recommend this hotel even to my worst enemy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were very impressed by our room in this hotel - it was really quite stunning. The bed was extremely comfortable, the view was spectacular and throughout the day, you could hear the chanting echoing from the city. The service was good - staff were professional but not overly warm. The free WiFi worked for us in the room and parking was free.

I do agree with other reviewers on a few things - (1) there is no shower screen, so water does get outside of the shower, (2) the hotel is not walking distance from the central part of the city, so you need a car. With a car, you are only about 10-15 minutes away from the Medina. There is, however, a wonderful dessert place a few minutes away by walking - turn right when you exit the hotel and right again at the road. It has "Boston" in the name and the desserts are delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier

Address: Route de Cap Spartel, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying on the north coast where the Mediterranean meets the Atlantic ocean off Cap Spartel, the white city nestles one of the most prestigious hotel of the city: The Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tanger.Blessed with a breathtaking location overlooking the Royal Golf of Tangier, the Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier welcomes you in a contemporary elegance and a refined Arabo-Andalous style.The spectacular surrounding are echoed by the hotel's beautifully appointed bedroom, suites, lounges, fine dining restaurants, swimming pool, spa and conference rooms with free WIFI access.On leisure or business, the Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tanger offers the perfect solution for your travel needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Andalucia Golf Tangier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.