We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, central place with great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Dar Omar Khayam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Dar Omar Khayam to your Saves list
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, central place with great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with an excellent location in the new part of town and far more charm than larger and more expensive hotels.
Rooms are quite different from one another but #16 was bright and airy and really nice.
The staff was more than accomodating and friendly as other have pointed out.
Great value for money and I highly recommend it (not sure what negative reviewers are complaing about but I'm quite certain that the error lies in their unrealistic expectations rather than the hotel itself).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tangier was our first stop in Morocco, and the staff were both welcoming and went above and beyond in providing us with local knowledge and assistance with respect to onward travel. The facilities were spare, but there was nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I think my title sums up the way I feel. The atmosphere was very cool, breakfast was good. We stayed only overnight and barely saw the place, as we were driving through, but it was just what we needed, at a very comfortable price for today's restricted budgets !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here on my first visit to Tangier and was a little nervous about visiting Tangier as a solo female traveler. This hotel made me feel so much better about my trip, the owner gave me his personal cell number as soon as he found out I was traveling alone and told me to call him if I needed anything at all. All of the staff was friendly and made a delicious breakfast! Even more, the owner drove me to my ferry and made sure I got on without a problem. The room was nice and the price was more than reasonable, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Dar Omar Khayam has been one of those great experiences I've had with a hotel hostal and I wanted to share that with all of you. It is located in a very modern street, yet a walking distance to the historical Kasbah. Also not far from the port. In fact, I walked from the ferry to the hotel.
The hotel has a very large outdoors patio, this is much better than other morrocan hotels that have small indoor patios where you hear the guests chatting. Instead at Dar Omar, because the window of my room opened to the open garden patio, it was completely quiet. The bathroom was modern, hot water worked perfectly. The bathroom was large and spacious and clean. WIFI worked very well, and in fact it was so powerful that I had several skype phone conferences without a glitch.

Oh, the owners have lived a great amount of time in the United States and speak English probably better than you and understand where you are coming from.

Regarding Tangiers, I was surprised, it has so many interesting things to see, not just the very old historic Bazar.Kasbah, but more recent stuff, like buildings from the 1950's. It was rather clean. In now way chaotic like Fez.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location, helpful staff were positives. An attached bath room without roof and sharing ceiling with bedroom, a dysfunctional WC and street noise were negatives. In winter may be OK but lack of Aircon and NO fan were no good. Almost at mid-night I thought to go to staff and ask for a pedestal or any other type of fan.,

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street side. If summer ensure a fan is availble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a young couple traveling with a friend, backpacking for a month through Morocco and Spain, on a pretty tight budget. This place was just what we were looking for. The location was great, with the waterfront at the end of the street and the medina approx 3 blocks further down; Dar Omar served as a great launching pad to explore the area.

The location is close to many parts of Tangier that you want to see, and although centrally located, Dar Omar's street is actually very quiet so we slept quite soundly. After walking around the busy and noisy medina at night I was glad to escape the commotion to Dar Omar. The rooms were basic but very clean and had a nice cozy/shabby style, plenty of hot water for showers. The service was good, very attentive. In the morning breakfast was prompt and satisfying, nothing fancy or elegant, but basic and delicious. We liked it so much that on our return to Tangier, very tired after 3 days of exploring Fes and the desert, we sought out Dar Omar again to be our refuge in Tangier and we were so happy when they welcomed us back with open arms.

Based on what I had read on the internet prior to our travels I did not have high expectations for Tangier while in Morocco but now after having visited I believe it was my favorite part, no small thanks to Dar Omar to make it so. If I am lucky enough to return I will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Dar Omar Khayam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Dar Omar Khayam

Address: 26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rooms in a residence by the beach located between downtown Tangier and the old Medina.The hotel has 26 comfy guest rooms with beds for up to four people.If you need a car, you can rent one directly from the hotel reception and use hotel parking during your stay.The reception is manned 24/7, and also offers a dependable wake-up service.Free wireless internet access in the rooms and airy public areas (WiFi).All rooms equipped with a little office space, internet connection and cable TV.The hotel provides convenient internet access in your room.The hotel has its own bistro - café serving breakfast, light snacks and drinks.Our competent staff looks forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Dar Omar Khayam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Dar Omar Khayam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.