We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camera ready retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar 23

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar 23
Save
You added Dar 23 to your Saves list
23 rue Las Once | Ancienne Médina, Tangier 90000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 43 Tangier B&B and Inns
Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Camera ready retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wish you had a your own private, stylish retreat—think Christian Liaigre meets Albert Pinto, mixing a minimalist and orientalist aesthetic—in Tangiers' heart? Then try Dar 23, it will comes as close as possible to that reality. Just off Petit Socco, this house offers two rooms for rent, each with their own bathrooms, on the upper floors of a classic medina house. Nomade, being just under the terrace from which there are gorgeous views of the medina and the Straights, is the most brightly lit. Ébène, just below, has a larger sitting area, and overlooks a cute lower terrace with potted plants, through which guests of Nomade go as they ascend to their room. Both rooms feature ample storage. The bottom floors of the house include a living room and a kitchen (not to be used by the guests). There is also a small alcove bedroom on the ground floor, but without a bathroom, and just a curtain for privacy, it is used mostly for children, or when people rent the entire place to themselves. Unfortunately, Peter the owner was traveling during our stay, and since most people praise his welcome, we were a bit disappointed, but the couple who keeps the place, Nedjat and Mohamed, took good care of us and answered all our questions. I appreciated that Mohamed went to meet one of us at the train station, which is quite far from the center and is the scene of petit-taxi mayhem when the train from Casa arrives. We felt safe at all hours in the medina, and appreciated that its cosmopolitan people are used to see foreigners. Actually, it is obvious that Tangiers is quickly regaining its rightful status as one of Morocco’s top destinations. A perfect base to explore a region rich in cultural sights and natural attractions.

Room Tip: Nomade is the best room, but both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
88
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ifrane, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Located just a few steps off the main square (Zoco Chico or Petit Zoco), Peter's house, Dar 23, is an excellent lodging in a great location. For those not familiar with Tangier, the medina might seem daunting at first. Like most cities, there are the safe neighborhoods and not-so safe neighborhoods. Dar 23 is in a safe neighborhood and Peter can direct you around the medina and the entire city of Tangier quite well. Though a bit small for those maybe used to staying in large hotels or palatial riads, Dar 23 is nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable. Peter is a wonderful host and can give you suggestions for restaurants and sites to see. My wife and I stayed here right after we got married as the "start" to our honeymoon in Morocco. We were not disappointed. A great spot in Tangier and a nice change from the hotels one is accustomed to when traveling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Positioned in the heart of Medina, old part of Tangier, this hotel will provide sanctuary, your very own, calm and cool little corner of peace in a mad, mad world of spices, perfumes, great people and interesting offers. As long as you remember to say "shukran" -' thank you' and as politely as you can muster, merchants will leave you alone to enjoy this incredible city. Practicalities; bed is comfy, linen clean, bathroom can do with some modernising, breakfast is not bad if you speak French so you can talk to the host ( the owner was away when we stayed there, he is an American). The place is in a very small street, but most of them are, so get someone to meet you at the station/ port. Expect to walk up hill a lot so wear comfy shoes. Look for the food market and get your own fresh food, if you visit restaurant with the 'travel guide' ( one was recommended to us by the hotel) they will charge you an arm and a leg for a second rate meal. With so many food stalls around, look after yourself, you will love the peasant cheese, fresh fruit and vegetables. And those cost peanuts! For truly Moroccan experience, avoid staying in the new part of the city, I recommend stay in Medina regardless of which hotel you chose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here in early October 2012 and everything exceeded our expectations. Peter and his assistant Mohammed were extremely attentive and helpful, even offering to go to the train station to pick up our train tickets for us after we had arrived. The rooms were beautifully decorated, thoughtfully arranged and quite clean. (I especially appreciated the hot shower with fantastic water pressure after a few days of being on the road!). Peter provided ample helpful suggestions for things to see, places to eat, and the best ways to get around. The dar's location itself was central, just a few steps from the Petit Socco, so it was very easy to navigate your way to and from the dar within the medina. Breakfast was simple yet very tasty--just right to set us up for a day of exploring the medina, and it was served on the rooftop terrace with outstanding views of the medina and the strait. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Dar 23 is a wonderful Riad in the Medina. It was a true pleasure to stay there. The Owner Peter,
was fantastic , showed me (walked even to be sure I find it) to the Restaurant. What a great place. Even it was off season - Peter tried the upmost to welcome me. I felt like friend who is visiting an old friend! The hold house is to perfection decorated. It smeld lovely of Jasmin.
One of the highlight was the terasse where the prepared a chair, so I could chill on the roof -
read my book and watch the see .... and basically get lost in my thoughts.....
what a great place!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nothing to complain about here....Dar 23 is a beautifully restored b&b in the heart of the medina. The owner, Peter, and his staff were gracious, informative and superbly helpful throughout our stay. We will be returning! ...the only note I would make is that it was difficult to locate at first so make sure you have carefully read the directions online before you leave home (we did not). There is no sign out front to indicate that you have arrived at the right place so it feels like a bit of a leap of faith when you initially knock on the door...once inside, however, you will immediately feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar23Tanger, Owner at Dar 23, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such heart warming words, it has been an enormous pleasure for us to welcome you to our home. we shall have many more lovely moments together if I shall come visit in Chicago or better still, come again to Morocco to discover more culinary delights! until next time, wishing you all the best! Peter and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For a cultured visit to Tangier, I suggest Dar 23. Although we arrived late, Peter sent his assistant to greet us in the "easy to find" public square. Then he presented us with mint tea and appetizers. After that he calmly asked us a few questions about what we wanted to see, do, and where to eat in Tangier. His tastefully decorated common room has original antiquity drawings, which made Dar 23 even more appealing. Peter recommended a restaurant that made us feel like we were in the movie Casablanca; (we had decided the real Casablanca was too industrial and did not include it in our itinerary but as it turns out the movie Casablanca was based on a book about Tangier.) The Nomade room was very comfortable; decorated in Moroccan/Asian motifs, with a view of the roof garden. But I recommend you ask for one of the rooms on the lower floors if you have physical disabilities. Peter could not have been a more gracious host. The morning we left he was up early serving us breakfast and then he walked us to the Port to catch the ferry; making sure we did not get lost and were on time. Dar 23 was a lovely surprise.

Room Tip: As most Riads or Dars in Morocco, everything is built up not out. The lower floors are easier to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar 23

Address: 23 rue Las Once | Ancienne Médina, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar23, an oasis, a home, is situated in the heart of the "Petit Socco", historic center of the International Zone flourished during the early 20th century in the old town of Tangier. A small house in traditional Andalusia architecture with modern comfort and with decoration in a unique mix of Oriental, African and Contemporary style. 3 bedrooms only, 2 double and a single, Moroccan in spirit with modern facilities. The tariff of the rooms include a welcome tea, a bottle of mineral water, Moroccan/Continental breakfast and wi-fi connection. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.