We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad dated but nice ocean view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tarik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tarik to your Saves list
Hotel Tarik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Malabata, Tangier, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A tad dated but nice ocean view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here in September 2010 and while it wasn't fab, it wasn't bad either. room spotted a v. simple yet tasteful design. we had a sea-facing room and the ocean view was nice. this establishment may be a tad dated though, and the dark and gloomy corridor leading to our room and beyond could perhaps use improved lighting. we were able to easily access the beach via the hotel-beach gate which by the way was quite a trick to maneuver from time to time but it wasn't a huge problem. breakfast throughout was the same generous heap of assorted breads without much assorted accompaniments so that got kinda tiresome after a while. hotel recep staff was helpful though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    27
    17
    17
See reviews for
15
34
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We couldn't believe we got caught the first day we arrived in Morocco. We went into the Marco Polo travel agent asking about hotels and they sold us this one, paid upfront and were assured it was just up the road, a few minutes walk. 7km later we finally got there and were greeted (or NOT actually) by a snooty man who just ignored us and left us to be attended to by someone else

The room was spacious and very pretty with a fabulous view of the beach (and lovely sunsets). The whole hotel is a bit tired and tatty, what you'd call 'faded grandeur'

We enquired how much it would be to stay another night and were quoted a price considerably below that which we paid to Marco Polo, so be warned and do not book through them

Although we did walk all the way there you really do need a taxi to get anywhere, and there aren't that many there so you are a bit at their mercy for getting back into town. Having said that, if you come across Abdul the taxi driver wanting to give you a tour of Tangier, he was honest and very good value, we did a wonderful trip with him and would recommend this as a way of seeing the surrounds of Tangier as well as the Medina where he walked with us and showed us where he was born

Breakfast was a pile of assorted breads so a bit disappointing

There was free wifi in the foyer and on the day we left, although we had checked out, we were able to hang out in the public areas and use the wifi, bar, toilets, etc. In fact it was very interesting watching the comings and goings of a couple of older men and some 'working girls'

Room Tip: Don't book through Marco Polo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Reading some of the negative reviews here we were worried about staying at this hotel. We were booked there as part of a city break package. However, after spending two nights there we came away very satisfied. Yes, the hotel is shabby and needs refurbishment; there was no sink plug and only one piece of hotel soap for two people. The soap dish was missing from the shower. The door to the balcony was difficult to slide open or shut. The TV was old and very small. However the water was plenty hot and the pressure very good. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The public rooms were large and quite impressive. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were all very pleasant and helpful and spoke English and Spanish. The restaurant food was good, reasonably priced and well served. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, orange juice, croissants and bread roll. The city is a long walk away or a 2€ taxi ride away.

The shabbiness of the place may put some people off but if you can see through that there is a nice, clean hotel there with very nice staff. It's great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Did you know that there is another category of rating hotels in morocco? It is the number of towel each room gets!.
In this hotel you get only one towel for each person - and they do not care that normally we use one towel for hand, 1-2 towels for taking bath and may be one for the bathroom floor. If you ask the reception for more towels you get this answer: in this hotel you get only one towel.
This is not all the reception can do. The receptionists are very good at refusing any request from the guests and they just say that they do not know . "They know nothing"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is direct at the seaside. My room was looking at the see. It was a wonderful view. Unfortunately, the windows were not soundproof and during the night it was difficult to sleep not only because of the see but also because of a laud street on the other side of the hotel. Moreover, there was cold air coming through the window, since it was not possible to close it perfectly, so it was quite unpleasant. The room was frugal but ok, in arabic style. The bath was terribly small. There were no non-smoking common areas and also the couches were fool of smoke. The furnishing of the common areas as well as of the restaurant was old-dated. In the common areas there was free wireless internet. The hotel is far away from the city centre. You have to take a taxi to go there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

itis not worth half the amount of money I payed...OK, 140 euros for 3 nights with breakfast is nothing. Bt can it be clean please???? there were bloodstains in the downstairs toilets, hygiene nothing, really nothing... I almost left. I changed rooms, but stil wth ants and hairs everywere, you just want to leave!! I called a cleaner myself and gave her money to clean again. they also dont have proper things to clean, old and dirty stuff....oeeefff, terrible.
Men at the reception were not nice, did not feel welcome at all, they couldnt care less. Man at bar and restaurant were nicer, but also there was the hygiene far beyond what is has to be.
electricity and airco poor and smelly...

I could write some positive things, but I wont because this way the bad hotels always remain bad hotels!!

The beach is not what they say! There a big broken fench between the hotel and the beachrocks. Even dangerous to climb the rocks, cause they are all loose. Gates to the beach are closed. nce you get out, you cannot get back in.

There are no fridges in the room. Sorry, not one good word for this hotel!! Shame to Tangier, wich is a very cultural and beautifull and alive city!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I arrived in the lobby after checking online that there were plenty of vacancies. We asked for a room and the older man on the front desk (Mohammed Morani as he advised me) lied to us by telling us the hotel was completely full while we had clear view of about 85% of the room keys hanging behind him.

My husband went out to find another hotel nearby while I waited in the lobby and I asked another man at the counter if he could make any recommendations. He asked if we needed a room and I said yes, then he said "no problem, we have a room for you".

Very unimpressed with Mr Morani's rudeness & not a nice way to finish up what was a lovely trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tarik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarik

Address: Route de Malabata, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tarik 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tarik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tarik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.