We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but horrible terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majestic

Hotel Majestic
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Majestic
Save Saved
You added Hotel Majestic to your Saves list
121, Av. Hassan II, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Rabat
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location but horrible terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I chose the majesctic because it was right across the entrance to the medina, although quite far from any other attraction. Location is perfect and there are a lot of restaurants and shops around but this is pretty much the only thing the hotel has for itself.

While the rooms look OK, if you look closer you notice that the cleanliness is arguable, the appliances (if still there) do not work and it is noisy even if you have a room with a rear view because you can hear your neighbours' conversations.

That's not the worst though, the staff does not understand what service means. They seem really annoyed if you ask them a question. They gave me a coupon to get breakfast in a cafe nearby but they did not bother explaining to me where it was, just that it was outside and when I asked more details, my question was welcomed with a big sigh like I was really bothering them.
The aslo refused to call me a taxi or even help me call one. The service and hospitality were really bad. I travel a lot and I have been in a lot of budget hotels in a lot of countries but this was by far the worst staff I have ever met.

Room Tip: if you really want ot go to the Majestic, ask for a room with NO street view. it wil still be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels around the world (budget and upmarket) and this was the worst. It was not clean, sterile room (not one inch of atmosphere or character) but worst of all the staff were so rude...the worst hotel experience i have ever had! The woman at the front counter should not be in the hotel industry!! It was like the guests were just a nusiance for being there. And many others felt the same.

I had to change rooms due to the noise level from downstairs and i had used a guest soap to wash hands in the original room. The porter picked up the soap and transported it to my new room...whilst huffing like it was all a hassle.

Rabat is a great under-rated place...but look elsewhere for a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

During our Morocco tour we stayed one night in Rabat in this hotel. The hotel is located right in front of the medina more or less in the city center, about 10 minutes by foot from the train station. Easy to find. The room itself was not too spacious but we even had a supermall tiny TV...whoppeee...:)...nah nothing to mention. Room was clean and ok. Unfortunately we had to ask for the towels and after arriving they first tried to automatically book us for the night inclusive breakfast but in general the staff is very friendly. Big downside in my point view was our very narrow bathroom: toilet, shower and basin all squeezed on 2 squaremeters. We payed 32 € for a double which is alright for the room. Try to request a room onto the other side of the entrance since the main street can be loud at times. For one night in Rabat this hotel is totally suitable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

A budget hotel with unfriendly staff. Towels had to be requested from the front desk. Rooms had the bare minimum. Far from tourist sites.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tudela
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel is clean overmore hot water is produced by solar energy safe and clean feeling to have a shower like this and to go to the medina easily

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

This is a small and friendly hotel, conveniently located across from the medina, 5mn away from the train station, and major buses. No internet available, but an internet cafe has recently opened 2 stores down the avenue. The staff was very helpful and kind. But the selling point remains its very low cost: 250 dhs for a single, with bathroom and shower included (hot water available). The only negative points are the fact that your room will not be cleaned by staff if you stay for a few days, and a slight mustiness to my room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We stayed at the Majestic for over a week and were very pleased. It is absolutely clean and the staff were friendly. Its location is very good for the medina , which is just across the street and the cafe and coffeeshop next door are very nice and upscale.
You do need your own towel, but this is typical of many Moroccan hotels. The price is very modest and the place is very safe, clean and convenient. All kinds of conventional shops are nearby, plus a grocery, plenty of cabs and access to ATM and change / Banks. Just a short walk to the train station.Much more interesting place in terms of experiencing local color, than the large expensive hotels. But a number of tourists do stay here, as well as locals.
I would highly recommend this hotel, but do be aware that there is not heating and in December, it was chilly. However most of the year is warm.They do provide extra thick blankets.
Everyone at the desk was triple nice to us and our rooms were cleaned daily. Good views of the medina from the balconies.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of access to internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 121, Av. Hassan II, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.